These 17,143 images need to be put on the timeline? Can you help pin their When?

Blackadder Hotel, Ballynahinch, Co. Galway
Description: Blackadder Hotel? Who would have thought that Blackadder would have gone forth from West Galway and from such a beautiful setting. This is up there with the most scenic Lawrence photographs we have seen. With thanks today to sharon.corbet, B-59, beachcomber, and guliolopez we have been able to map this image to the Angler's Return Hotel near Toombeola, County Galway. We also learned that Walter Blackadder (innkeeper and head of the Ballynahinch trout and salmon fishery) was well known in fishing and game circles in that part of the world for some years. The consensus is that this image is unlikely to be before 1895 (when Blackadder possibly took-over as both local innkeeper and gamekeeper).... Photographer: Robert French Collection: Lawrence Photograph Collection Date: c.1865-1914 (though possibly after 1895) NLI Ref: L_CAB_06995 You can also view this image, and many thousands of others, on the NLI’s catalogue at catalogue.nli.ie
Owner: National Library of Ireland on The Commons
Views: 36421
Tags: robertfrench williamlawrence lawrencecollection lawrencephotographicstudio glassnegative nationallibraryofireland blackadderhotel galway boats hooker



Trinity College, Brian Boro's Harp, Dublin City, Co. Dublin
Description: The Harp that once through Tara's halls... Well it may have been heard in Kincora? Here we see the Trinity College (or Brian Boru) harp as it was following (what the Wikipedia article describes as) a "bad restoration" of the 1830s. A bad restoration or not, it was in the form we see here that the harp became the model for the coat of arms of Ireland, the Guinness logo, the coins of Ireland, etc. It was subject to a more complete (and better received) restoration in the 1960s. As contributors to the discussion below point-out, while legend implies that the harp once belonged to the 11th century High King Brian Boru, more concrete evidence dates it to the 15th century. Following restoration in the 1960s, the harp was dramatically stolen from and returned to Trinity College, Dublin. The ancient harp continues to be displayed in the long room of the library at Trinity. Photographer: Robert French Collection: Lawrence Photograph Collection Date: between ca. 1865-1914 NLI Ref: L_ROY_04794 You can also view this image, and many thousands of others, on the NLI’s catalogue at catalogue.nli.ie
Owner: National Library of Ireland on The Commons
Views: 51520
Tags: robertfrench williamlawrence lawrencecollection lawrencephotographicstudio glassnegative nationallibraryofireland brianborusharp trinitycollege dublin library



Reverend J A Faithfull, vicar of Holy Trinity, Scarborough 1882 (archive ref PE176-32)
Description: (Buy exclusive historic East Yorkshire prints from East Riding Photos http://picturearchivesorg/eastridingphotos) The aptly named Reverend Faithfull was incumbent at Holy Trinity Church, Scarborough between 1882 and 1884. (Why not try searching our East Riding of Yorkshire Map for more historic images? www.flickr.com/photos/erarchives/map ) (Copyright) We're happy for you to share this digital image within the spirit of Creative Commons. Please cite 'East Riding Archives ' when reusing. Certain restrictions on high quality reproductions and commercial use of the original physical version apply. If unsure please email [email protected]
Owner: East Riding Archives
Views: 4129
Tags: black white vintage old photographs historic east riding yorkshire photograph



Saturday Market, Beverley 1881 (archive ref PH-4-5 a)
Description: (Buy exclusive historic East Yorkshire prints from East Riding Photos http://picturearchivesorg/eastridingphotos) An almost deserted market place in Beverley in the early 1880s. Those familiar with this East Yorkshire town will see how strikingly similar this scene is to the present-day layout of the street. Even 'The Green Dragon' hotel, indicated by the sign on the left, still retains its name to this day, although it now operates primarily as a public house. (Why not try searching our East Riding of Yorkshire Map for more historic images? www.flickr.com/photos/erarchives/map ) (Copyright) We're happy for you to share this digital image within the spirit of Creative Commons. Please cite 'East Riding Archives ' when reusing. Certain restrictions on high quality reproductions and commercial use of the original physical version apply. If unsure please email [email protected]
Owner: East Riding Archives
Views: 9233
Tags: black white vintage old photographs historic east riding yorkshire photograph



Alfred Wilson of Goole 1872 (archive ref DDX1803-1)
Description: (Buy exclusive historic East Yorkshire prints from East Riding Photos http://picturearchivesorg/eastridingphotos) Alfred Wilson in policeman's uniform from the mid-Victorian period. (Why not try searching our East Riding of Yorkshire Map for more historic images? www.flickr.com/photos/erarchives/map ) (Copyright) We're happy for you to share this digital image within the spirit of Creative Commons. Please cite 'East Riding Archives ' when reusing. Certain restrictions on high quality reproductions and commercial use of the original physical version apply. If unsure please email [email protected]
Owner: East Riding Archives
Views: 5016
Tags: black white vintage old photographs historic east riding yorkshire photograph



Howden Market Place 1871 (archive ref DDEY-1-193)
Description: (Buy exclusive historic East Yorkshire prints from East Riding Photos http://picturearchivesorg/eastridingphotos) An early scene of the Market Place at Howden, East Yorkshire in 1871. (Why not try searching our East Riding of Yorkshire Map for more historic images? www.flickr.com/photos/erarchives/map ) (Copyright) We're happy for you to share this digital image within the spirit of Creative Commons. Please cite 'East Riding Archives ' when reusing. Certain restrictions on high quality reproductions and commercial use of the original physical version apply. If unsure please email [email protected]
Owner: East Riding Archives
Views: 4355
Tags: black white vintage old photographs historic east riding yorkshire photograph



Outside the Ferguson Fawsitt Arms pub, Walkington 1875  (archive ref PC43-68)
Description: (Buy exclusive historic East Yorkshire prints from East Riding Photos http://picturearchivesorg/eastridingphotos) Perched on the donkey to the right of this image is Phillip Deighton, accompanied by local residents Feg Ferguson, Waxy Oliver and John Walsh amongst others. (Why not try searching our East Riding of Yorkshire Map for more historic images? www.flickr.com/photos/erarchives/map ) (Copyright) We're happy for you to share this digital image within the spirit of Creative Commons. Please cite 'East Riding Archives ' when reusing. Certain restrictions on high quality reproductions and commercial use of the original physical version apply. If unsure please email [email protected]
Owner: East Riding Archives
Views: 5438
Tags: black white vintage old photographs historic east riding yorkshire photograph



'Ridgmont', Burstwick 1865 (archive ref DDX1713-1)
Description: (Buy exclusive historic East Yorkshire prints from East Riding Photos http://picturearchivesorg/eastridingphotos) 'Ridgmont' was home to the Stickney Family (pictured). William Stickney was head of the household. He was married to Mary Champney. Most of the children later emigrated from East Yorkshire to the United States. (Why not try searching our East Riding of Yorkshire Map for more historic images? www.flickr.com/photos/erarchives/map ) (Copyright) We're happy for you to share this digital image within the spirit of Creative Commons. Please cite 'East Riding Archives ' when reusing. Certain restrictions on high quality reproductions and commercial use of the original physical version apply. If unsure please email [email protected]
Owner: East Riding Archives
Views: 4471
Tags: black white vintage old photographs historic east riding yorkshire photograph



Navigation bridge (iron) on curved lock, dock on canal entrance, another bridge, towns old mill, hills, in background
Description: On a dull and dreary morning in Ireland a bright and sun filled stereo pairs image of a canal/dock. The young man leaning over the railing looking at the water is doing what young men have done across the ages - watching the world go by! Given the washed out detail we thought this might prove to be difficult to locate? However, our contributors were able to adjust the contrast slightly, bringing more of the detail easier to make out, and helping confirm the location as the bridge over the Tralee Ship Canal. We can also see Blennerville's distinctive windmill in the background. (The latter coincidentally appearing in some VT during this evening's Rose of Tralee festival coverage :) ) Photographers: Frederick Holland Mares, James Simonton Contributor: John Fortune Lawrence Collection: Stereo Pairs Photograph Collection Date: between ca. 1860-1883 NLI Ref: STP_1778 You can also view this image, and many thousands of others, on the NLI’s catalogue at catalogue.nli.ie
Owner: National Library of Ireland on The Commons
Views: 18166
Tags: lawrencecollection stereographicnegatives jamessimonton frederickhollandmares johnfortunelawrence williammervynlawrence nationallibraryofireland bridge dock mill



Frescati House, Blackrock
Description: Once one of the great houses of Dublin and today a shopping mall, the demolition of this building was viewed by quite a few as a "monumental act of vandalism". B-59 draws our attention to the Frescati House Wikipedia article which covers its history and association with the FitzGerald family and United Irishmen. Perhaps most interesting however (made relevant in recent times with events affecting other 18th century manor homes) are the sections of the Wikipedia article dealing with the 15 year fight to save Frescati from demolition. Ultimately unsuccessfully..... Photographer: Robert French Collection: Lawrence Photograph Collection Date: between 1880-1900 NLI Ref: L_ROY_05948 You can also view this image, and many thousands of others, on the NLI’s catalogue at catalogue.nli.ie
Owner: National Library of Ireland on The Commons
Views: 19073
Tags: robertfrench williamlawrence lawrencecollection lawrencephotographicstudio glassnegative nationallibraryofireland frescatihouse blackrock marksspencer countydublin



Londesborough Railway Station 1935 (archive ref DDX1230-2)
Description: (Buy exclusive historic East Yorkshire prints from East Riding Photos http://picturearchivesorg/eastridingphotos) Now defunct and abandoned, this station once served the great Londesborough Hall Estate near Market Weighton. (Why not try searching our East Riding of Yorkshire Map for more historic images? www.flickr.com/photos/erarchives/map ) (Copyright) We're happy for you to share this digital image within the spirit of Creative Commons. Please cite 'East Riding Archives ' when reusing. Certain restrictions on high quality reproductions and commercial use of the original physical version apply. If unsure please email [email protected]
Owner: East Riding Archives
Views: 4644
Tags: station east yorkshire old photographs photos black white bw historic



South Cave Railway Station 1938 (archive ref DDEY-1-184)
Description: (Buy exclusive historic East Yorkshire prints from East Riding Photos http://picturearchivesorg/eastridingphotos) (Why not try searching our East Riding of Yorkshire Map for more historic images? www.flickr.com/photos/erarchives/map ) (Copyright) We're happy for you to share this digital image within the spirit of Creative Commons. Please cite 'East Riding Archives ' when reusing. Certain restrictions on high quality reproductions and commercial use of the original physical version apply. If unsure please email [email protected]
Owner: East Riding Archives
Views: 3619
Tags: station east yorkshire old photographs photos black white bw historic



Market Weighton Railway Station 1940 (archive ref DDX1525-1-14)
Description: (Buy exclusive historic East Yorkshire prints from East Riding Photos http://picturearchivesorg/eastridingphotos) Market Weighton Station was demolished in 1967 as part of the infamous railway cutbacks of Dr Beeching. This image shows it back in its heyday, before any talk of scrapping the direct Hull-York line. (Why not try searching our East Riding of Yorkshire Map for more historic images? www.flickr.com/photos/erarchives/map ) (Copyright) We're happy for you to share this digital image within the spirit of Creative Commons. Please cite 'East Riding Archives ' when reusing. Certain restrictions on high quality reproductions and commercial use of the original physical version apply. If unsure please email [email protected]
Owner: East Riding Archives
Views: 3767
Tags: station east yorkshire old photographs photos black white bw historic



Platform at Market Weighton Railway Station 1940 (archive ref DDX1525-1-14)
Description: (Buy exclusive historic East Yorkshire prints from East Riding Photos http://picturearchivesorg/eastridingphotos) Market Weighton Station was demolished in 1967 as part of the infamous railway cutbacks of Dr Beeching. This image shows it back in its heyday, before any talk of scrapping the direct Hull-York line. (Why not try searching our East Riding of Yorkshire Map for more historic images? www.flickr.com/photos/erarchives/map ) (Copyright) We're happy for you to share this digital image within the spirit of Creative Commons. Please cite 'East Riding Archives ' when reusing. Certain restrictions on high quality reproductions and commercial use of the original physical version apply. If unsure please email [email protected]
Owner: East Riding Archives
Views: 3692
Tags: station east yorkshire old photographs photos black white bw historic



Staff at Cherry Burton railway station 1910 (archive ref DDX1544-2-2)
Description: (Buy exclusive historic East Yorkshire prints from East Riding Photos http://picturearchivesorg/eastridingphotos) The station at Cherry Burton is now a private dwelling, and sits between the local golf course and the main Beverley-Malton road (B1248). Here are some of its staff on the platform back in 1910. (Why not try searching our East Riding of Yorkshire Map for more historic images? www.flickr.com/photos/erarchives/map ) (Copyright) We're happy for you to share this digital image within the spirit of Creative Commons. Please cite 'East Riding Archives ' when reusing. Certain restrictions on high quality reproductions and commercial use of the original physical version apply. If unsure please email [email protected]
Owner: East Riding Archives
Views: 3879
Tags: station east yorkshire old photographs photos black white bw historic



Buckingham Palace, London (with French sub-titles)
Description: A rare visit to the Stereo Pairs collection takes us out foreign, to Bucks House no less and the "Picture Gallery". The titles as inserted on the slide are in French which may raise questions as to its provenance and source(?) [https://www.flickr.com/photos/[email protected]] that the image was a work by the studios of Ferrier, Soulier & Levy (Wikipedia) who did glass stereographs (note similar image with comparable French sub-text). It's suggested that the image was taken close to the middle of the 1860-1880s range - but certainly some time before redevelopment of the room and its ceiling in the early 20th century.... Photographers: Frederick Holland Mares, James Simonton Contributor: John Fortune Lawrence Collection: Stereo Pairs Photograph Collection Date: c.1860-1883 NLI Ref: STP_0422 You can also view this image, and many thousands of others, on the NLI’s catalogue at catalogue.nli.ie
Owner: National Library of Ireland on The Commons
Views: 16589
Tags: lawrencecollection stereographicnegatives jamessimonton frederickhollandmares johnfortunelawrence williammervynlawrence nationallibraryofireland thepicturegallery buckinghampalace london



Easington Windmill 1905 (archive ref PO-1-36-1)
Description: (Buy exclusive prints of this image from East Riding Photos) The windmill at Easington, on the Holderness coast of East Yorkshire in 1905. (Why not try searching our East Riding of Yorkshire Map for more historic images? www.flickr.com/photos/erarchives/map ) (Copyright) We're happy for you to share this digital image within the spirit of Creative Commons. Please cite 'East Riding Archives ' when reusing. Certain restrictions on high quality reproductions and commercial use of the original physical version apply. If unsure please email [email protected]
Owner: East Riding Archives
Views: 3863
Tags: windmill windmills old historic heritage east yorkshire riding rural villages



Top of Ellerker Mill (Demolition) 1913 (archive ref DDEY-1-67)
Description: (Buy exclusive historic East Yorkshire prints from East Riding Photos http://picturearchivesorg/eastridingphotos) Men sit atop the mill at Ellerker in East Yorkshire as they begin work on its demolition in 1913. (Why not try searching our East Riding of Yorkshire Map for more historic images? www.flickr.com/photos/erarchives/map ) (Copyright) We're happy for you to share this digital image within the spirit of Creative Commons. Please cite 'East Riding Archives ' when reusing. Certain restrictions on high quality reproductions and commercial use of the original physical version apply. If unsure please email [email protected]
Owner: East Riding Archives
Views: 3861
Tags: windmill windmills old historic heritage east yorkshire riding rural villages



Wetwang Mill 1900 (archive ref DDX1321-47-1)
Description: (Buy exclusive historic East Yorkshire prints from East Riding Photos http://picturearchivesorg/eastridingphotos) Nestled beside what used to be the post office in the East Yorkshire village of Wetwang, the old mill can be seen here at the junction of Northfield Road, Southfield Road, and Main Street, back in 1900. (Why not try searching our East Riding of Yorkshire Map for more historic images? www.flickr.com/photos/erarchives/map ) (Copyright) We're happy for you to share this digital image within the spirit of Creative Commons. Please cite 'East Riding Archives ' when reusing. Certain restrictions on high quality reproductions and commercial use of the original physical version apply. If unsure please email [email protected]
Owner: East Riding Archives
Views: 5010
Tags: windmill windmills old historic heritage east yorkshire riding rural villages



Walkington Windmill 1912 (archive ref PC43-112)
Description: (Buy exclusive historic East Yorkshire prints from East Riding Photos http://picturearchivesorg/eastridingphotos) The windmill at Walkington, East Yorkshire, just east of the town of Beverley. (Why not try searching our East Riding of Yorkshire Map for more historic images? www.flickr.com/photos/erarchives/map ) (Copyright) We're happy for you to share this digital image within the spirit of Creative Commons. Please cite 'East Riding Archives ' when reusing. Certain restrictions on high quality reproductions and commercial use of the original physical version apply. If unsure please email [email protected]
Owner: East Riding Archives
Views: 3809
Tags: windmill windmills old historic heritage east yorkshire riding rural villages



Statue of Sir B.L. Guinness, St. Patricks Cathedral, Dublin
Description: A statue of a man in tights should get us off to a good start today? I have seen this statue of Sir B L Guinness many times but never paid much heed to. It will be nice to research him and see what his claim to fame may have been. While acknowledging that there is much more to him, oaktree_brian_1976 offers a summary of "the beer dude" :) As per the detail provided by B-59, BultacoFan, beachcomber, and Niall McAuley we learn that Benjamin Guinness (1798–1868) was a brewer and philanthropist, and that he contributed to the restoration (reconstruction?) of the cathedral where this status stands. The sculptor was John Hogan (1800–1858), whose works we have come across quite a few times before.... Photographer: Robert French Collection: Lawrence Photograph Collection Date: ca.1865-1914 NLI Ref: L_CAB_01308 You can also view this image, and many thousands of others, on the NLI’s catalogue at catalogue.nli.ie
Owner: National Library of Ireland on The Commons
Views: 16296
Tags: robertfrench williamlawrence lawrencecollection lawrencephotographicstudio glassnegative nationallibraryofireland sirblguinness stpatrickscathedral dublin statue



Miss Joan Musgrave, elder, on horse, hair stripe in coat
Description: Miss Musgrave on her horse from the Poole collection. The well manicured lawn and gravel drive denote a "Big" house and privilege. Any bets on the name of the horse? Our researchers traced this lady and discovered that she changed from Miss Musgrave to Mrs Joan Jameson (1892–1953). (The Jameson's of course of the noted whiskey distillers of Dublin.) She was an accomplished artist and exhibited many times in Dublin and London. Thank you all for your contributions and help! Photographer: A. H. Poole Collection: Poole Photographic Studio, Waterford Date: Catalogue range 1901-1954. Likely in the middle of this range (given label (subject married in 1920) and age (possibly late teens or 20s here). NLI Ref: POOLEWP 2278 You can also view this image, and many thousands of others, on the NLI’s catalogue at catalogue.nli.ie
Owner: National Library of Ireland on The Commons
Views: 20095
Tags: ahpoole arthurhenripoole glassnegative nationallibraryofireland missjoanmusgrave horse drive lawn 18021911 poolephotographiccollection



The Apprentice Boys Memorial aka
Description: Today we move from the far south of Waterford to the far north of Derry and a memorial to the Apprentice Boys there. A surprisingly modest memorial to such an historically important group. This shot from Derry/Londonderry didn't arouse a lot of interest today, but it appears that the memorial is not so much to the Apprentice Boys themselves as it is to the unknown people interred in a mass grave near St. Columbs Cathedral following the siege. Swordscookie found an account of where the bones of those interred were being taken to be dumped into land reclamation at the river and local people objected. The remains were then taken back to the cathedral and interred in the "Heroes Mound" The correct title for this image might rightly be "The Heroes Mound Memorial"? Photographer: Robert French Collection: Lawrence Photograph Collection Date: between ca. 1865-1914 NLI Ref: L_ROY_02877 You can also view this image, and many thousands of others, on the NLI’s catalogue at catalogue.nli.ie
Owner: National Library of Ireland on The Commons
Views: 15665
Tags: robertfrench williamlawrence lawrencecollection lawrencephotographicstudio glassnegative nationallibraryofireland derrylondonderry apprenticeboys memorial siegeheroesmound



Curraghmore, Portlaw, Co. Waterford
Description: We may have moved to the Lawrence Collection today but we remain firmly in Poole territory of Waterford. This magnificent pile may not have survived the "Troubles" but if it has it would make a most interesting place to visit. This proved to be a red herring as though the catalogue entry was labelled "Annaghmore", this proved to be "Curraghmore House" - the home of the Marquis of Waterford, and a place we have visited here many times in the past. Thank you one and all for your help in clearing up the confusion! What is particularly pleasing about this is that the old pile did indeed survive the "Troubles" intact! Photographer: Robert French Collection: Lawrence Photograph Collection Date: between ca. 1865-1914 NLI Ref: L_CAB_04065 You can also view this image, and many thousands of others, on the NLI’s catalogue at catalogue.nli.ie
Owner: National Library of Ireland on The Commons
Views: 16652
Tags: glassnegative robertfrench williamlawrence nationallibraryofireland lawrencecollection lawrencephotographicstudio curraghmore curraghmorehouse portlaw countywaterford



Papes Yard, Keldgate c.1900s  (archive ref DDX1525-1-4)
Description: (Buy exclusive historic East Yorkshire prints from East Riding Photos http://picturearchivesorg/eastridingphotos) Papes Yard, Keldgate, Beverley c.1912 This photograph of Keldgate shows the entrance to Papes Yard (first opening) and Cook’s Yard (second opening). Papes Yard was a former name for School Lane, used frequently during the latter part of the 19th century. Cook’s Yard appears on the 1861 census when it belonged to Joseph Cook who had a Shoemaker’s shop next door. The car in the image was owned by M.B. Bannister and the gentleman riding the bicycle is Mr Ockleton, who lived at 134 Keldgate. (Why not try searching our East Riding of Yorkshire Map for more historic images? www.flickr.com/photos/erarchives/map ) (Copyright) We're happy for you to share this digital image within the spirit of Creative Commons. Please cite 'East Riding Archives ' when reusing. Certain restrictions on high quality reproductions and commercial use of the original physical version apply. If unsure please email archives.service[email protected]
Owner: East Riding Archives
Views: 4688
Tags: old houses yards people streets vintage walking transport historic east



Description: The somewhat long catalogue label for this image is "Bridge of three arches over river in foreground, street with terraces of chequered front houses in middle ground". While I must admit this seems desperately familiar (and fighting a feeling of déjà vu that we have visited this bridge before), today's "location unknown" image comes from the Stereo Pair collection. Are we losing it? Have we been here before? Where is "here"...? With thanks to Mike Grimes, B-59, beachcomber, and O Mac, the location was quickly confirmed as Bann Bridge in Portadown. Captured possibly on a busy market day. The bridge was extensively rebuilt 50 or so years after this 1870s(?) image - many of the distinctive terraced houses on the right do not survive. Photographers: Frederick Holland Mares, James Simonton Contributor: John Fortune Lawrence Collection: Stereo Pairs Photograph Collection Date: 1860-1883 (though likely after 1867/68) NLI Ref: STP_2202 You can also view this image, and many thousands of others, on the NLI’s catalogue at catalogue.nli.ie
Owner: National Library of Ireland on The Commons
Views: 16859
Tags: lawrencecollection stereographicnegatives jamessimonton frederickhollandmares johnfortunelawrence williammervynlawrence nationallibraryofireland bann bridge portadown



Sessions House, photograph of print 1830 (archive ref PH-4-6 )
Description: (Buy exclusive historic East Yorkshire prints from East Riding Photos http://picturearchivesorg/eastridingphotos) Sessions House, New Walk, photograph of print, c.1830 New Walk was laid out in around 1778-1780 and the Sessions House and House of Correction were designed by Watson and Pritchett of York in 1804 and built around 1807-1814. New Walk originally had a variety of trees, planted in irregular formation – the line of chestnut trees are said to have been first planted in 1823. The Sessions House in New Walk was built from 1804 to 1810 and had a prison at the rear along Norfolk Street. There were 126 cells by 1835, but by the 1870s they housed an average of only 60 prisoners at any one time. The prison was closed in 1878 and the prisoners moved to West Riding jails. The prison cells and the warden’s house were turned into houses and a convent. The site now also houses the police station. (Why not try searching our East Riding of Yorkshire Map for more historic images? www.flickr.com/photos/erarchives/map ) (Copyright) We're happy for you to share this digital image within the spirit of Creative Commons. Please cite 'East Riding Archives ' when reusing. Certain restrictions on high quality reproductions and commercial use of the original physical version apply. If unsure please email [email protected]
Owner: East Riding Archives
Views: 5056
Tags: old houses historic east riding photographs prints beverley



No. 347. Sjölapper i Lyngseidet / No. 347 Coast Sami at Lyngseidet
Description: Dato / Date: published ca. 1900-1904 Sted / Place: Norge, Troms, Lyngen, Lyngseidet Fotograf / Photographer: Axel Lindahl (1841-1906) Utgiver / Publisher: N. K. Digital kopi av original / Digital copy of original: sv/hv postkort, lystrykk Eier / Owner Institution: Nasjonalbiblioteket / National Library of Norway Lenke / Link: www.nb.no Bildesignatur / Image Number: blds_08336
Owner: National Library of Norway
Views: 5671
Tags: same postcards samer troms driedfish postkort lyngen tørrfisk lyngseidet nasjonalbiblioteket



Sjøfinner ved Ulfsfjord / Coast Sami at Ulfsfjord
Description: Dato / Date: published ca. 1900-1904 Sted / Place: Troms Kunstner / Artist: Wilhelm Peters (1851-1935) Utgiver / Publisher: N. J. (Christiania) Digital kopi av original / Digital copy of original: trykt postkort, farge Eier / Owner Institution: Nasjonalbiblioteket / National Library of Norway Lenke / Link: www.nb.no Bildesignatur / Image Number: blds_08347
Owner: National Library of Norway
Views: 5578
Tags: postcards sami samer postkort nasjonalbiblioteket nationalcostumes sjøsamer nationallibraryofnorway folkedrakter wilhelmpeters



Online-Survey-Flickr
Description: Exhibition Evaluation Project - Survey / An Tionscadal Meastóireachta Taispeántas – Suirbhé We're reviewing our exhibition programme here at the National Library of Ireland, and we need your help. A main aim of this project is to find out if we’re meeting the needs of our exhibition visitors; to find out what’s working well or not so well; and to find out if we could or should do things differently. Whether you've ever (or never) visited our exhibitions, have your say now about what you expect and would like to see or do on a visit to a National Library of Ireland exhibition. Have your say now Táimidne i Leabharlann Náisiúnta na hÉireann ag athbhreithniú ár gcláir thaispeántas agus teastaíonn do chabhair uainn. Príomhaidhm de chuid an tionscadail seo is ea a fháil amach an bhfuilimid ag freastal ar riachtanais na gcuairteoirí ar ár gcuid taispeántas; a fháil amach cé na nithe a bhfuil ag éirí leo agus cé na nithe nach bhfuil ag éirí leo agus a fháil amach an bhféadfaimis nithe a dhéanamh ar bhealach eile nó ar cheart dúinn nithe a dhéanamh ar bhealach eile. Is cuma cé acu a d’fhreastail tú ar ár gcuid taispeántas nó nár fhreastail tú ar cheann ar bith díobh riamh, cuir do chuid tuairimí in iúl faoi na nithe a mbíonn tú ag súil leo agus ba mhaith leat a fheiceáil nó a dhéanamh agus tú ar cuairt ar thaispeántas de chuid Leabharlann Náisiúnta na hÉireann. Cuir do chuid tuairimí in iúl anois
Owner: National Library of Ireland on The Commons
Views: 17425
Tags:



The photographers den?
Description: We are in Waterford again today the home city of Mr A.H. Poole. I wonder if this is the studio where all of our fantastic Poole portraits were taken or is it just an outlet for the products we can see in the window? Today's discussion focused on what may have prompted Poole to capture this shot of his premises on the Quay in Waterford, immediately adjacent to the historic Reginald's Tower. Possibly it had recently been renovated - an "after" shot to compare to the "before" also in the catalogue. In any event, while we've focused in the past on Poole's photographic studio at 34 The MalI, we hadn't really paid much attention to his shop/outlet - which lay just around the corner at 134 the Quay. As our contributors point-out, some of the Poole images we've shared over the years were taken from the upper windows of both these premises... Photographer: A. H. Poole Collection: Poole Photographic Studio, Waterford Date: c.1901-1954. But likely first decade or so of 20th C (1910+/-) NLI Ref: POOLEWP 0363 You can also view this image, and many thousands of others, on the NLI’s catalogue at catalogue.nli.ie
Owner: National Library of Ireland on The Commons
Views: 15504
Tags: poolesstores waterford munster ireland ahpoole arthurhenripoole glassnegative nationallibraryofireland reginaldstower tower



Something Fishy
Description: An unusual Poole photo for you today. Our catalogue states that this is the Duke of Devonshire fishing, I presume he is fishing on the Munster Blackwater, unless of course you know something different.... While perhaps still none-the-wiser on the embellishments to today's image, today's contributors (and especially [https://www.flickr.com/photos/[email protected]], [https://www.flickr.com/photos/gnmcauley], [https://www.flickr.com/photos/beachcomberaustralia] & [https://www.flickr.com/photos/[email protected]]) have confirmed that this image was likely taken between 1901 and 1908. When Spencer Cavendish was 8th Duke of Devonshire. The consensus is that the image was taken on the Munster Blackwater - if not close to the family's seat at Lismore, then perhaps slightly downstream.... Photographer: A. H. Poole Collection: Poole Photographic Studio, Waterford Date: c.1901 -1954. Though likely c.1901-1908 NLI Ref: POOLEWP 1397 You can also view this image, and many thousands of others, on the NLI’s catalogue at catalogue.nli.ie
Owner: National Library of Ireland on The Commons
Views: 15948
Tags: ahpoole arthurhenripoole glassnegative nationallibraryofireland dukeofdevonshire fishing angling lismore spencercavendish8thdukeofdevonshire countywaterford



Taheta, 1950. Page 69.
Description: Creator(s): Department of the Interior. Bureau of Indian Affairs. Mount Edgecumbe Boarding School. 1947-1983 Series: Yearbooks, 1947 - 1983 Production Date: 1950 Scope and Content Note: This yearbook contains photographs of Taheta school staff and students, a senior class history, a "Senior Class Will", a "Senior Prophecy", photographs of student doing various activities, descriptions and group photographs of student clubs and student athletes, and a section reserved for autographs. Access Restriction(s):Unrestricted Use Restriction(s):Unrestricted Contact(s): National Archives at Seattle (RW-SE) 6125 Sand Point Way NE Seattle, WA 98115-7999 Phone: 206-336-5115 Fax: 206-336-5112 Email: [email protected] National Archives Identifier: 26434622 Local Identifier: SEAL-198 Persistent URL: catalog.archives.gov/id/26434622
Owner: The U.S. National Archives
Views: 18395
Tags: usnationalarchives alaskadigitizationproject nara:arcid=26434622



Taheta, 1949. Page 58.
Description: Creator(s): Department of the Interior. Bureau of Indian Affairs. Mount Edgecumbe Boarding School. 1947-1983 Series: Yearbooks, 1947 - 1983 Production Date: 1949 Scope and Content Note: This yearbook contains photographs of Taheta school staff and students, a senior class history, a "Senior Class Will", a "Senior Prophecy", photographs of student doing various activities, descriptions and group photographs of student clubs and student athletes, and a section reserved for autographs. Access Restriction(s):Unrestricted Use Restriction(s):Unrestricted Contact(s): National Archives at Seattle (RW-SE) 6125 Sand Point Way NE Seattle, WA 98115-7999 Phone: 206-336-5115 Fax: 206-336-5112 Email: [email protected] National Archives Identifier: 26434621 Local Identifier: SEAL-198 Persistent URL: catalog.archives.gov/id/26434621
Owner: The U.S. National Archives
Views: 15288
Tags: usnationalarchives alaskadigitizationproject nara:arcid=26434621



West Beach, Queenstown, Co. Cork
Description: While we have been to Queenstown/Cobh before this fine Lawrence shot of the West Beach has lots of interest. Those skifs and the people around add interest to the scene with occasional ghosts to liven things up! With the help of the businesses (and their advertising), our intrepid contributors have refined the near 50 year range of the catalogue dates to perhaps 5 to 10 years in the early 20th century. The Emerson's Bromo Selzter advert on front of O'Sullivan's chemists was likely put in place around the same time (if a lot less longstanding) as the 1911 Emerson Bromo-Seltzer Tower in the company's home state of Maryland.... Photographer: Robert French Collection: Lawrence Photograph Collection Date:between ca. 1865-1914 (but likely early 20th Century) NLI Ref: L_ROY_08816 You can also view this image, and many thousands of others, on the NLI’s catalogue at catalogue.nli.ie
Owner: National Library of Ireland on The Commons
Views: 36619
Tags: robertfrench williamlawrence lawrencecollection lawrencephotographicstudio glassnegative nationallibraryofireland queenstown cobh skiffs boats



Potter Hill Beckside junction circa 1950s (archive ref DDX1544-1-11)
Description: (Buy exclusive historic East Yorkshire prints from East Riding Photos http://picturearchivesorg/eastridingphotos) Potter Hill, Beckside junction, Beverley circa 1950s Potter Hill, known at one time as Cockpit Hill, was also part of ‘Londonderry’ - an old name for that part of the Beckside area of Beverley. Its name could have derived from a pot market which was held there in the 1800s. The chimney visible in the background on the left hand side, belonged to Barker’s Mill. Barker, Son and Company was founded in 1896. After the First World War it was amalgamated with HF Lee Smith of Hull. In 1921, Barkers and Lee Smith became an incorporated company, operating from Barkers Mill in Beverley. The Barkers and Lee Smith premises at Beckside transferred from seed crushing to the production of animal feeds in 1952, and was the last malting in the town. Note the road sign, only one way to go back then, ‘Keep Left’. (Why not try searching our East Riding of Yorkshire Map for more historic images? www.flickr.com/photos/erarchives/map ) (Copyright) We're happy for you to share this digital image within the spirit of Creative Commons. Please cite 'East Riding Archives ' when reusing. Certain restrictions on high quality reproductions and commercial use of the original physical version apply. If unsure please email [email protected]
Owner: East Riding Archives
Views: 4737
Tags: old houses signs streets buildings hill potter junction historic east



Keldgate, East End from South East, c.1900 (archive ref PO-1-14-282
Description: (Buy exclusive prints of this image from East Riding Photos) Keldgate, East End from south-east, 1900 Could these people be on their way to Sunday service at Beverley Minster in 1900? Keldgate, the street pictured here, was recorded as early as 1250 and is one of Beverley’s most famous and historic streets, which had one of the notable Bars at the western end of it. In 1905, the Minster’s old high wall, seen here in the background, was demolished and replaced by a low wall using the original copings and bricks nearer to the church to enable a footpath to be constructed. The demolition was carried out by a local firm of builders, Thomas Stephenson & Sons, based in Minster Moorgate. The photograph was taken sometime before 1905, as the high wall is still intact around the Minster, which dates it to early 1900. (Why not try searching our East Riding of Yorkshire Map for more historic images? www.flickr.com/photos/erarchives/map ) (Copyright) We're happy for you to share this digital image within the spirit of Creative Commons. Please cite 'East Riding Archives ' when reusing. Certain restrictions on high quality reproductions and commercial use of the original physical version apply. If unsure please email [email protected]
Owner: East Riding Archives
Views: 4377
Tags: old streets yorkshire historic east photographs beverley keldgate



Broadgate, East Riding Asylum 1905 (archive ref PH-1-66)
Description: (Buy exclusive historic East Yorkshire prints from East Riding Photos http://picturearchivesorg/eastridingphotos) The former East Riding Lunatic Asylum opened in Walkington in 1871 with 100 patients transferred from the North Riding Asylum at York. Standing in its own grounds close to the road from Beverley to Walkington, it boasted magnificent views of the surrounding countryside, which could be seen from the hospital windows. In 1949 it was renamed Broadgate Mental Hospital. During its lifetime, it underwent many changes and at one time it was known as one of the most progressive hospitals of its kind. ‘Broadgates’ closed in 1989 and was later demolished to make way for a new housing development (Why not try searching our East Riding of Yorkshire Map for more historic images? www.flickr.com/photos/erarchives/map ) (Copyright) We're happy for you to share this digital image within the spirit of Creative Commons. Please cite 'East Riding Archives ' when reusing. Certain restrictions on high quality reproductions and commercial use of the original physical version apply. If unsure please email [email protected]
Owner: East Riding Archives
Views: 4617
Tags: building buildings hospital historic broadgate east riding asylum towns beverley



Tentoonstelling Floraliën Gent, Vier eeuwen in bloei
Description: Liberas/Liberaal Archief Kramersplein 23 9000 Gent www.liberas.eu
Owner: Liberas
Views: 2194
Tags: flowers gent bloemen tentoonstelling floraliën kramersplein23 liberaalarchiefvzw gentsefloraliën2016 gentviereeuweninbloei



Hill Street, Hounds
Description: It is a while since we had two consecutive Eason photos, today we are in Hill Street, Newry, County Down. Such a lot going on and some nice motors to be identified. Today's contributions focused on two key business premises on Hill Street - specifically the Shelbourne Bakery which had been in business a quarter century even by the time of this shot, and the Ulster Bank opposite. Investigations on the motor vehicles pictured helped narrow the almost 40 year range to perhaps a decade or so after 1928/29.... Photographer: Unknown Collection: Eason Photographic Collection Date: c. 1900-1939 (though likely c.1930 or later) NLI Ref: EAS_1452 You can also view this image, and many thousands of others, on the NLI’s catalogue at catalogue.nli.ie
Owner: National Library of Ireland on The Commons
Views: 17898
Tags: eason easonson easoncollection easonphotographiccollection glassnegative nationallibraryofireland hillstreet ireland newry ulster



Main Street, Midleton, Co. Cork
Description: A new week and we start off with a photo from the lovely town of Midleton. I think something looks staged in this one, what do you think? With thanks in particular today to the contributions of Niall McAuley, derangedlemur, Carol Maddock, and guliolopez it is confirmed that the motor car pictured (IF789) was registered from c.1914 to John Joseph Walshe, who was bank manager of the Munster & Leinster Bank branch which dominates the right of the image. The 1911 census lists the Walshe household as including JJ Walshe, his wife Cicily (Nano) Walshe, and servants John Lynch and Janie Goggin. As they seem to be well aware of the shot being taken, it seems plausible that there may have been an association with the photographer (supporting our theory that this isn't quite a candid shot). And seems equally likely that at least some of those listed in this census are pictured at the open door of the bank, and almost certainly in the car itself (where intriguingly we note that the man in chauffeur garb is sitting in the back seat!) Thanks also to beachcomberaustralia for info on the likely car model and on the corner of "Goose's Acre" in the immediate foreground.... Photographer: Unknown Collection: Eason Photographic Collection Date: Catalogue range c.1900-1939. Likely >1914 based on car reg (but perhaps not too much later) NLI Ref: EAS_0945 You can also view this image, and many thousands of others, on the NLI’s catalogue at catalogue.nli.ie
Owner: National Library of Ireland on The Commons
Views: 20833
Tags: eason easonson easoncollection easonphotographiccollection glassnegative nationallibraryofireland midleton munster ireland mainstreet



Princes Parade from south, Bridlington, c.1905 (archive ref PO-1-20-71)
Description: (Buy exclusive prints of this image from East Riding Photos) (Why not try searching our East Riding of Yorkshire Map for more historic images? www.flickr.com/photos/erarchives/map ) (Copyright) We're happy for you to share this digital image within the spirit of Creative Commons. Please cite 'East Riding Archives ' when reusing. Certain restrictions on high quality reproductions and commercial use of the original physical version apply. If unsure please email [email protected]
Owner: East Riding Archives
Views: 3527
Tags: bridlington postcard old 1900s seaside east riding historic tourism princes



Princes Parade from north, Bridlington, c.1905 (archive ref PO-1-20-72)
Description: (Buy exclusive prints of this image from East Riding Photos) (Why not try searching our East Riding of Yorkshire Map for more historic images? www.flickr.com/photos/erarchives/map ) (Copyright) We're happy for you to share this digital image within the spirit of Creative Commons. Please cite 'East Riding Archives ' when reusing. Certain restrictions on high quality reproductions and commercial use of the original physical version apply. If unsure please email [email protected]
Owner: East Riding Archives
Views: 3292
Tags: old people tourism gardens architecture seaside postcard historic parade east



Earl Street, Mullingar, Co. Westmeath
Description: Another fine Lawrence street shot taken by the inimitable Mr. French to start our week! Here we have not only a goodly, straight and clean street but the denizens thereof watching the artist as he takes their image for posterity. Looking at the lady with the donkey and cart dressed in a shawl and bowler hat it strikes me how closely that dress resembles the dress of the women in Peru, Bolivia and Ecuador in the high Andes. Can anybody see the man with one leg? Thanks to all of today's contributors - including to [https://www.flickr.com/photos/[email protected]] and [https://www.flickr.com/photos/gnmcauley] who draw our attention to the street names. Including that the main street we see ("Earl Street") was renamed (to "Pearse Street") in the decades that followed this image, while one of the side-streets has an Irish language street sign (later standardised to "Boithrín Tobar an Sconna")... Photographer: Robert French Collection: Lawrence Photograph Collection Date: between 1880-1900 NLI Ref: L_ROY_08093 You can also view this image, and many thousands of others, on the NLI’s catalogue at catalogue.nli.ie
Owner: National Library of Ireland on The Commons
Views: 49363
Tags: glassnegative robertfrench williamlawrence nationallibraryofireland lawrencecollection lawrencephotographicstudio pearsestreet mullingar countywestmeath earlstreet



Jokkmokk Old Church, Lappland, Sweden
Description: People outside Jokkmokk old church in Lapland, built in 1753. To the right is the bell tower. Lithograph, from the later part of the 19th century. Artist unknown. Människor utanför Jokkmokks gamla kyrka, byggd 1753. Till höger klockstapeln. Litografi, från andra hälften av 1800-talet. Okänd konstnär. Collection: The Collection of drawings, watercolours and prints, Archives of the Swedish National Heritage Board Parish (socken): Jokkmokk Province (landskap): Lappland Municipality (kommun): Jokkmokk County (län): Norrbotten Photograph by: Lars Kennerstedt Date: 2014 Persistent URL: kmb.raa.se/cocoon/bild/show-image.html?id=16001000532176
Owner: Swedish National Heritage Board
Views: 6088
Tags: landscape riksantikvarieämbetet theswedishnationalheritageboard



House of Ethics Rabbi Yisrael Salanter
Description: House of Ethics. The Foundation, Our Master, Our Teacher, and Our Rebbe (admur) Rabbi Yisrael Salanter. Kovno Born in Lithuania in 1810, Rabbi Yisra’el ben Ze’ev Volf Salanter (also known as Lipkin) was a prominent Rabbi and is the founder of the first Musar society. As a young man Salanter was sent to study Torah with Rabbi Tsevi Hirsh Broyda, during his studies Salanter came into contact with Yosef Zundel through whom Salanter became interested in questions regarding moralistic and ethical teachings. For Salanter it was not enough for Jews to observe the commandments and be committed to the study of Torah, they also needed to devote themselves to ethical improvement. This led Salanter to found a “Musar house” in Vilna where ethical texts were studied and where Salanter delivered lectures. Throughout his life Salanter moved around establishing “Musar houses” in many cities in Eastern and Western Europe. The teachings of the Musar movement were somewhat controversial in Salanter’s lifetime and the standards for moral improvement were highly demanding of adherents. Though Rabbi Salanter died in 1883, the Musar movement outlived him, with the movement expanding in the nineteenth century as Salanter’s disciples became involved in yeshivas. This bookstamp came from the Musar House (the “house of ethics”) in Kovno. This book stamp is from a book looted by the Nazis and sorted by Colonel Seymour Pomrenze, one of “the Monuments Men,” at the Offenbach Archival Depot. There are two scrapbooks of archival markings from the books sorted at the Offenbach Depot in the Seymour Pomrenze Collection held by the American Jewish Historical Society (Call number P-933) There is a finding aid for the collection here The digitized scrapbooks are available here and here. For more information on this project check the Center’s blog: 16thstreet.tumblr.com/tagged/Offenbach-Depot Dr. Mitch Fraas, Acting Director of the Digital Humanities Forum at the University of Pennsylvania Libraries' Special Collections Center is working on a similar project for the German book stamps based on NARA microfilm of the volumes the American Jewish Historical Society currently holds. See viewshare.org/views/mfraas/offenbach-bookplates/ The Center for Jewish History would like to acknowledge the following: The American Jewish Historical Society, who graciously allowed the use of their archival materials and digital content; Mitch Fraas, Acting Director of the Digital Humanities Forum at the University of Pennsylvania Libraries' Special Collections Center, for his data and technical assistance in this project; David Rosenberg, Senior Manager for Communications, and Melanie Meyers, Senior Reference Services Librarian for Special Collections, for managing and creating the digital map; as well as Reference Services Librarian Zachary Loeb and Reference Services Assistant Ilya Slavutskiy for their work on translating and mapping. For copyright information, click here
Owner: Center for Jewish History, NYC
Views: 3270
Tags: hardwareepsonexpression100 softwareepsonscanv220aan



St. Nicolai medieval church ruin at new moon, Visby, Gotland, Sweden
Description: Saint Nicolai medieval church ruin in Visby town on the island of Gotland. View from the north at new moon. Oil painting by A.T. Gellerstedt. Latter part of the 19th century. The Hanseatic town of Visby is today a UNESCO World Heritage. Sankt Nicolai medeltida kyrkoruin i Visby. Vy från norr vid nymåne. Oljemålning av A.T. Gellerstedt. Senare delen av 1800-talet. Hansestaden Visby är idag ett världsarv på UNESCO:s världsarvslista. Collection: The Collection of drawings, watercolours and prints, Archives of the Swedish National Heritage Board Parish (socken): Visby Province (landskap): Gotland Municipality (kommun): Gotland County (län): Gotland Photograph by: Lars Kennerstedt Date: 2014 Persistent URL: kmb.raa.se/cocoon/bild/show-image.html?id=16001000531316
Owner: Swedish National Heritage Board
Views: 6421
Tags: riksantikvarieämbetet theswedishnationalheritageboard



The Square, Fermoy, Co. Cork
Description: Another angle on the Square, Fermoy with our backs to the River Blackwater. We have seen this square before but usually looking out across the bridge. It is surprising to see how dominated the town is by the convent and church buildings on the heights. With thanks to today's contributors, though we've visited the square before, we learned a little more about the history of the Loreto Convent in the background, and the businesses on Queen's Square in the foreground. Appreciation is due in particular to [https://www.flickr.com/photos/gnmcauley] for his investigations that allow us to narrow the 50 year catalogue range (1860s-1910s) to a decade or so (1880s-1890s)... Photographer: Robert French Collection: Lawrence Photograph Collection Date: Catalogue range ca.1865-1914. Refined to ca.1884-1893 per comments below. NLI Ref: L_CAB_04039 You can also view this image, and many thousands of others, on the NLI’s catalogue at catalogue.nli.ie
Owner: National Library of Ireland on The Commons
Views: 24713
Tags: robertfrench williamlawrence lawrencecollection lawrencephotographicstudio glassnegative nationallibraryofireland fermoy riverblackwater cocork countycork



Post Office, Carnlough, Co. Antrim
Description: A familiar bridge but a different focus. We have seen this bridge before from the other side. But today, the focus is on the Post Office at Carnlough in Co. Antrim. The scene really has a charm all its own! With thanks to today's contributors, there's a suggestion that this image may date from the latter half of the catalogue range - possibly early 20th rather than late 19th century. If so, those pictured at the Post Office door may be members of the McSparron family, who were running it at the time of the 1901 and later 1911 census.... Photographer: Robert French Collection: Lawrence Photograph Collection Date: between ca. 1865-1914 NLI Ref: L_ROY_06575 You can also view this image, and many thousands of others, on the NLI’s catalogue at catalogue.nli.ie
Owner: National Library of Ireland on The Commons
Views: 25058
Tags: robertfrench williamlawrence lawrencecollection lawrencephotographicstudio glassnegative nationallibraryofireland ulster carnlough countyantrim northernireland



Emergency personnel disembark from  the Humber ferry 28 May 1961 (archive ref CD-103) (16)
Description: (Buy exclusive historic East Yorkshire prints from East Riding Photos http://picturearchivesorg/eastridingphotos) This image was taken during 'Exercise Exodus', a simulated evacuation exercise carried out by Hull Civil Defence Authority on 28th May 1961, when the Cold War was at its height. It was designed as practice for how to evacuate the city of Kingston upon Hull, East Yorkshire, in the event of a catastrophic incident and involved volunteers, as well as civil defence and emergency personnel, being 'evacuated' via a bus convoy and across the River Humber on the old ferries. (Why not try searching our East Riding of Yorkshire Map for more historic images? www.flickr.com/photos/erarchives/map ) (Copyright) We're happy for you to share this digital image within the spirit of Creative Commons. Please cite 'East Riding Archives ' when reusing. Certain restrictions on high quality reproductions and commercial use of the original physical version apply. If unsure please email [email protected]
Owner: East Riding Archives
Views: 3998
Tags: old people cold bus ferry river war exercise evacuation authority



Volunteers board the Humber ferry 28 May 1961 (archive ref CD-103) (30)
Description: (Buy exclusive historic East Yorkshire prints from East Riding Photos http://picturearchivesorg/eastridingphotos) This image was taken during 'Exercise Exodus', a simulated evacuation exercise carried out by Hull Civil Defence Authority on 28th May 1961, when the Cold War was at its height. It was designed as practice for how to evacuate the city of Kingston upon Hull, East Yorkshire, in the event of a catastrophic incident and involved volunteers, as well as civil defence and emergency personnel, being 'evacuated' via a bus convoy and across the River Humber on the old ferries. (Why not try searching our East Riding of Yorkshire Map for more historic images? www.flickr.com/photos/erarchives/map ) (Copyright) We're happy for you to share this digital image within the spirit of Creative Commons. Please cite 'East Riding Archives ' when reusing. Certain restrictions on high quality reproductions and commercial use of the original physical version apply. If unsure please email [email protected]
Owner: East Riding Archives
Views: 3545
Tags: old people cold bus ferry river war waiting exercise evacuation



Usherettes standing in the doorway of the New Strand Theatre, Liverpool Street, Hobart (1930)
Description: Tasmanian Archive and Heritage Office: NS2930/1/6 Images from the TAHO collection that are part of The Commons have ‘no known copyright restrictions’, which means TAHO is unaware of any current copyright restrictions on these works. This can be because the term of copyright for these works may have expired or that the copyright was held and waived by TAHO. The material may be freely used provided TAHO is acknowledged; however TAHO does not endorse any inappropriate or derogatory use.
Owner: Tasmanian Archives and State Library (Commons)
Views: 4102
Tags: cinema theatre entertainment tasmania hobart taho tasmanianarchiveandheritageoffice



Description: ...I know, I know. Someone in Library Towers was on the sauce last evening but it wasn't me :) Clearly this image is of the cathedral on the Rock of Cashel. How its label was transmogrified to become "Crawford's Burn Bridge and Waterfall" is a mystery. Then again the devil's race against Fionn MacCumhaill did begin up near the Burn and ended near Cashel(?) Thanks to Rory_Sherlock and sharon.corbet for highlighting the vault repairs that were clearly undertaken in the 100+ years between our Lawrence shot, and this photosphere view from 2014. Photographer: Robert French Collection: Lawrence Photograph Collection Date:between ca. 1865-1914 NLI Ref: L_CAB_00272 You can also view this image, and many thousands of others, on the NLI’s catalogue at catalogue.nli.ie
Owner: National Library of Ireland on The Commons
Views: 23200
Tags: robertfrench williamlawrence lawrencecollection lawrencephotographicstudio glassnegative nationallibraryofireland mislabelled possiblecataloguecorrection rockofcashel cathedral



Mr. Gerald Flood, Castleboro, Clonroche, Co. Wexford
Description: Mr. and Mrs. Gerald Flood with their family make a fine portrait to end the week, Here you may notice that of the four children two bear a strong resemblance to the father and two to the mother! And a handsome family they are too. With thanks to O Mac and sharon.corbet there is strong evidence that this image dates from the 1930s, and that - as Sharon notes - those pictured are (left to right):  Nora, Tim, Ita (standing), Nelly (sitting), Martin, Gerald [Flood] Both boys pictured went on to play inter-county hurling, with the younger Flood winning 3 All-Irelands in the 1950s and 60s.... Photographer: A. H. Poole Collection: Poole Photographic Studio, Waterford Date: between ca. 1901 and 1954 (likely 1930s) NLI Ref: POOLEWP 4297 You can also view this image, and many thousands of others, on the NLI’s catalogue at catalogue.nli.ie
Owner: National Library of Ireland on The Commons
Views: 28367
Tags: ahpoole arthurhenripoole glassnegative nationallibraryofireland clonroche countywexford geraldflood martinflood timflood noraflood



Bird's Eye View, Lurgan, Co. Armagh
Description: Before the days of helicopters and drones a church steeple or high hill provided a "birds eye view" as in this shot. Lurgan appears a well developed town with industry and institutions aplenty back when this shot was taken. Thanks to today's contributions we know that the photographer captured this from a high vantage point on Lurgan's Shankill Parish Church (COI), looking north - along the aptly named North Street - towards St Peter's Church (Cath). We have yet to refine the date significantly, but it's obviously before the removal of the gas holders off Ulster Street.... Photographer: Unknown Collection: Eason Photographic Collection Date: between ca. 1900-1939 NLI Ref: EAS_3978 You can also view this image, and many thousands of others, on the NLI’s catalogue at catalogue.nli.ie
Owner: National Library of Ireland on The Commons
Views: 25214
Tags: eason easonson easoncollection easonphotographiccollection glassnegative nationallibraryofireland ulster lurgan countyarmagh shakill



Gentleman and Lady on Bicycles c.1900 (archive ref DDX1319-1-EYC12)
Description: (Buy exclusive historic East Yorkshire prints from East Riding Photos http://picturearchivesorg/eastridingphotos) (Why not try searching our East Riding of Yorkshire Map for more historic images? www.flickr.com/photos/erarchives/map ) (Copyright) We're happy for you to share this digital image within the spirit of Creative Commons. Please cite 'East Riding Archives ' when reusing. Certain restrictions on high quality reproductions and commercial use of the original physical version apply. If unsure please email [email protected]
Owner: East Riding Archives
Views: 4853
Tags: old woman man history bike bicycle lady outdoors couple transport



14th century stone house, Stora Hästnäs, Visby, Gotland, Sweden
Description: Stone house with stepped gables from the 14th century, at Stora Hästnäs north of Visby town on the island of Gotland. Watercolour by A.T. Gellerstedt, from the 15th of June, 1873. Stenhus med trappgavlar från 1300-talet vid Stora Hästnäs norr om Visby. Akvarell av A.T. Gellerstedt, från 15 juni 1873. Collection: The Collection of drawings, watercolours and prints, Archives of the Swedish National Heritage Board Parish (socken): Visby Province (landskap): Gotland Municipality (kommun): Gotland County (län): Gotland Photograph by: Lars Kennerstedt Date: 2014 Persistent URL: kmb.raa.se/cocoon/bild/show-image.html?id=16001000531338
Owner: Swedish National Heritage Board
Views: 7106
Tags: riksantikvarieämbetet theswedishnationalheritageboard



St. Lars medieval church ruin, Visby, Gotland, Sweden
Description: Interior of Saint Lars medieval church ruin in Visby. Pencil drawing by Per Arvid Säve, from 1850. The Hanseatic town of Visby is today a UNESCO World Heritage. Interiör av Sankt Lars medeltida kyrkoruin i Visby. Blyertsteckning av Per Arvid Säve, från 1850. Hansestaden Visby är idag ett världsarv på UNESCO:s världsarvslista. Collection: The P.A. Säve Collection, Archives of the Swedish National Heritage Board Parish (socken): Visby Province (landskap): Gotland Municipality (kommun): Gotland County (län): Gotland Photograph by: Lars Kennerstedt Date: 2011 Persistent URL: kmb.raa.se/cocoon/bild/show-image.html?id=16001000327486
Owner: Swedish National Heritage Board
Views: 6936
Tags: riksantikvarieämbetet theswedishnationalheritageboard



Doon Well, Donegal Highlands, Termon, Co. Donegal
Description: Doon Well? This is one of many "Holy Wells" throughout Ireland with those strange items of clothing material on twigs and sticks nearby. This looks more like a Lawrence image to me, what do you think? As B-59 points-out, we've visited this holy well before, but have a different angle here. This angle doesn't quite take in the nearby Rock of Doon, but does give us a view of some of the landmarks mentioned in the texts that [https://www.flickr.com/photos/gnmcauley] and [https://www.flickr.com/photos/beachcomberaustralia] have shared... Photographer: Unknown Collection: Eason Photographic Collection Date: between ca. 1900-1939 NLI Ref: EAS_1042 You can also view this image, and many thousands of others, on the NLI’s catalogue at catalogue.nli.ie
Owner: National Library of Ireland on The Commons
Views: 22348
Tags: eason easonson easoncollection easonphotographiccollection glassnegative nationallibraryofireland ulster holywell doonwell countydonegal



Square, Cahir, Co. Tipperary
Description: The Square in Cahir is the subject of today's image with lots of life and activity therein. There is no sign of motor transport and lots of people; but frighteningly in between the two 'jaunting' cars in the centre is a boot walking all on its lonesome! As [https://www.flickr.com/photos/gnmcauley] points-out, that we can see the Post Office in the centre middleground (with it's distinctive pitched gable frontage), we know that this images dates to the first decade or so of the 20th century. (c.1902-1912ish). Photographer: Robert French Collection: Lawrence Photograph Collection Date: Catalogue range 1865-1914. But likely c.1902-1912 NLI Ref: L_CAB_08628 You can also view this image, and many thousands of others, on the NLI’s catalogue at catalogue.nli.ie
Owner: National Library of Ireland on The Commons
Views: 25458
Tags: robertfrench williamlawrence lawrencecollection lawrencephotographicstudio glassnegative nationallibraryofireland thesquare cahir cotipperary countytipperary



Modern building, possibly an hotel with
Description: This morning we have a rather bleak looking building, apparently in the middle of nowhere, with a goodly supply of horse manure and a bowler hatted corner boy for local colour. And with thanks to today's contributor's, we now know that this is the King Thomond Hotel (formerly Thomond House and the Eagle Hotel), just south of Lisdoonvarna in County Clare. Possibly captured in the late 19th century.... Photographers: Frederick Holland Mares, James Simonton Contributor: John Fortune Lawrence Collection: Stereo Pairs Photograph Collection Date: between ca. 1860-1883 NLI Ref: STP_1901 You can also view this image, and many thousands of others, on the NLI’s catalogue at catalogue.nli.ie
Owner: National Library of Ireland on The Commons
Views: 20866
Tags: lawrencecollection stereographicnegatives jamessimonton frederickhollandmares johnfortunelawrence williammervynlawrence nationallibraryofireland cornerboy horsedung bleak



St. Clemens medieval church ruin in Visby, Gotland, Sweden
Description: Saint Clemens medieval church ruin in Visby town on the island of Gotland. Watercoloured drawing by Lars Cedergren, from 1816-1830. The Hanseatic town of Visby is today a UNESCO World Heritage. Sankt Clemens medeltida kyrkoruin i Visby. Akvarellerad teckning av Lars Cedergren, från 1816-1830. Hansestaden Visby är idag ett världsarv på UNESCO:s världsarvslista. Collection: The Collection of drawings, watercolours and prints, Archives of the Swedish National Heritage Board Parish (socken): Visby Province (landskap): Gotland Municipality (kommun): Gotland County (län): Gotland Photograph by: Lennart Strömberg Date: 2008 Persistent URL: kmb.raa.se/cocoon/bild/show-image.html?id=16001000041924
Owner: Swedish National Heritage Board
Views: 5726
Tags: riksantikvarieämbetet theswedishnationalheritageboard



Union of Food Workers Lozovsky Club
Description: The Lozovsky referred to in this stamp is most likely Solomon Lozovsky, a prominent Bolshevik and, during the times he was expelled from the Bolshevik Party (in 1914 and 1918), a Mezhraionets (a Russian Social Democratic Party faction straddling the ideological territory between the Bolsheviks and Mensheviks). He was a long-time revolutionary and a high official in various capacities in the Soviet Union. His Soviet political credentials were serious – at various times Presidium member of the All-Union Central Council of Soviet Trade Unions, Supreme Soviet member, Deputy People's Commissar for foreign affairs (answering to Molotov), and head of the Soviet Information Bureau (Sovinformburo). He was also the chair of the department of International Relations at the Higher Party School and General Secretary of the Red International Labour Union (Profintern). A Union club being named in Solomon Lozovsky’s honor is in line with his extensive involvement with labor unions throughout much of his career. This stamp is a testament to the existence of libraries in Union social institutions in the Soviet Union. He was born in Ukraine to Jewish parents and was a member of the Jewish Anti-Fascist Committee. He was murdered together with thirteen other members of the Jewish Anti-Fascist Committee in 1952 during Stalin’s anti-Semitic campaigns of the late 1940s and early 1950s. This event came to be known as the Night of the Murdered Poets, as five of the thirteen victims were Yiddish writers. This book stamp is from a book looted by the Nazis and sorted by Colonel Seymour Pomrenze, one of “the Monuments Men,” at the Offenbach Archival Depot. There are two scrapbooks of archival markings from the books sorted at the Offenbach Depot in the Seymour Pomrenze Collection held by the American Jewish Historical Society (Call number P-933) There is a finding aid for the collection here The digitized scrapbooks are available here and here. For more information on this project check the Center’s blog: 16thstreet.tumblr.com/tagged/Offenbach-Depot Dr. Mitch Fraas, Acting Director of the Digital Humanities Forum at the University of Pennsylvania Libraries' Special Collections Center is working on a similar project for the German book stamps based on NARA microfilm of the volumes the American Jewish Historical Society currently holds. See viewshare.org/views/mfraas/offenbach-bookplates/ The Center for Jewish History would like to acknowledge the following: The American Jewish Historical Society, who graciously allowed the use of their archival materials and digital content; Mitch Fraas, Acting Director of the Digital Humanities Forum at the University of Pennsylvania Libraries' Special Collections Center, for his data and technical assistance in this project; David Rosenberg, Senior Manager for Communications, and Melanie Meyers, Senior Reference Services Librarian for Special Collections, for managing and creating the digital map; as well as Reference Services Librarians Zachary Loeb and Ilya Slavutskiy for their work on translating and mapping. For copyright information, click here
Owner: Center for Jewish History, NYC
Views: 4813
Tags: hardwareepsonexpression100 softwareepsonscanv220aan



Pioneering Scouts Youth Organization Hashomer Hatzair in Lithuania
Description: Founded in 1913, as a merger between Tse’ire Agudat Tsiyon and Ha-Shomer, the organization Hashomer Hatzair was a Zionist-socialist youth movement that trained young people to immigrate to kibbutz in Palestine. The organization was founded in Galicia but expanded throughout Europe in the 1920s – by the late 1920s the organization had over ten thousand members, a number which had more than doubled by the start of WWII. The mixture of Zionism and socialism at the core of Hashomer Hatzair and its focus upon encouraging immigration set the organization apart from other youth organizations of the time that were either less expressly political or less focused (or hostile to) the cause of Zionism – while members of the organization who had already immigrated pushed the organization further and further to the left. With the onset of WWII many members of the organization attempted to get to Palestine, while others fled from the Nazis, even as others fell victim to their onslaught. Many members of Hashomer Hatzair became prominent leaders in the anti-Nazi resistant movements such as Haykah Grossman, Mordekhai Anielewicz, and Abba Kovner. This bookstamp belonged to a branch of Hashomer Hatzair active in Kovno – attesting to the fact that many of the branches of the organization had libraries. Hashomer Hatzair is still an active organization today. This book stamp is from a book looted by the Nazis and sorted by Colonel Seymour Pomrenze, one of “the Monuments Men,” at the Offenbach Archival Depot. There are two scrapbooks of archival markings from the books sorted at the Offenbach Depot in the Seymour Pomrenze Collection held by the American Jewish Historical Society (Call number P-933) There is a finding aid for the collection here The digitized scrapbooks are available here and here. For more information on this project check the Center’s blog: 16thstreet.tumblr.com/tagged/Offenbach-Depot Dr. Mitch Fraas, Acting Director of the Digital Humanities Forum at the University of Pennsylvania Libraries' Special Collections Center is working on a similar project for the German book stamps based on NARA microfilm of the volumes the American Jewish Historical Society currently holds. See viewshare.org/views/mfraas/offenbach-bookplates/ The Center for Jewish History would like to acknowledge the following: The American Jewish Historical Society, who graciously allowed the use of their archival materials and digital content; Mitch Fraas, Acting Director of the Digital Humanities Forum at the University of Pennsylvania Libraries' Special Collections Center, for his data and technical assistance in this project; David Rosenberg, Senior Manager for Communications, and Melanie Meyers, Senior Reference Services Librarian for Special Collections, for managing and creating the digital map; as well as Reference Services Librarians Zachary Loeb and Ilya Slavutskiy for their work on translating and mapping. For copyright information, click here
Owner: Center for Jewish History, NYC
Views: 4140
Tags: hardwareepsonexpression100 softwareepsonscanv220aan



New Walk, Beverley, from the south 1872 (archive ref PH-4-5 b)
Description: (Buy exclusive historic East Yorkshire prints from East Riding Photos http://picturearchivesorg/eastridingphotos) Other than the cobbles and slightly scruffy verges of this street, the scene remains virtually unchanged in over 140 years. (Why not try searching our East Riding of Yorkshire Map for more historic images? www.flickr.com/photos/erarchives/map ) (Copyright) We're happy for you to share this digital image within the spirit of Creative Commons. Please cite 'East Riding Archives ' when reusing. Certain restrictions on high quality reproductions and commercial use of the original physical version apply. If unsure please email [email protected]
Owner: East Riding Archives
Views: 4277
Tags: black white vintage old photographs historic east riding yorkshire photograph



Construction of South Dalton Church 1860 (archive ref PE54-11-1)
Description: (Buy exclusive historic East Yorkshire prints from East Riding Photos http://picturearchivesorg/eastridingphotos) The church at South Dalton, East Yorkshire, is synonymous with the Yorkshire Wolds landscape, which makes this image all the more striking as it shows the landmark spire in a state of half completion. (Why not try searching our East Riding of Yorkshire Map for more historic images? www.flickr.com/photos/erarchives/map ) (Copyright) We're happy for you to share this digital image within the spirit of Creative Commons. Please cite 'East Riding Archives ' when reusing. Certain restrictions on high quality reproductions and commercial use of the original physical version apply. If unsure please email [email protected]
Owner: East Riding Archives
Views: 4445
Tags: black white vintage old photographs historic east riding yorkshire photograph



Dutch River bridge, Goole 1882 (archive ref DDX882-18)
Description: (Buy exclusive historic East Yorkshire prints from East Riding Photos http://picturearchivesorg/eastridingphotos) Local historians believe that this was a swing bridge, which was eventually demolished in 1888. (Why not try searching our East Riding of Yorkshire Map for more historic images? www.flickr.com/photos/erarchives/map ) (Copyright) We're happy for you to share this digital image within the spirit of Creative Commons. Please cite 'East Riding Archives ' when reusing. Certain restrictions on high quality reproductions and commercial use of the original physical version apply. If unsure please email [email protected]
Owner: East Riding Archives
Views: 3885
Tags: black white vintage old photographs historic east riding yorkshire photograph



Fred Elwell (Beverley artist) as a boy circa 1885 (archive ref DDX1506-2-8)
Description: (Buy exclusive historic East Yorkshire prints from East Riding Photos http://picturearchivesorg/eastridingphotos) Frederick William (Fred) Elwell was born in Beverley, East Yorkshire on the 29th June 1870. He was a painter in oils of portraits, interiors and figurative subjects. Elwell exhibited at the Paris Salon in 1894 and the Royal Academy, where he became a member in 1938. He also painted a portrait of King George V in 1932. This photograph shows Elwell as a young boy in or around 1885. He died on 3rd January 1958, having achieved considerable standing as a professional painter and local notoriety for his artworks. (Why not try searching our East Riding of Yorkshire Map for more historic images? www.flickr.com/photos/erarchives/map ) (Copyright) We're happy for you to share this digital image within the spirit of Creative Commons. Please cite 'East Riding Archives ' when reusing. Certain restrictions on high quality reproductions and commercial use of the original physical version apply. If unsure please email [email protected]
Owner: East Riding Archives
Views: 4817
Tags: black white vintage old photographs historic east riding yorkshire photograph



Hornsea Brickyard Mill 1870 (archive ref DDX1687-3-2)
Description: (Buy exclusive historic East Yorkshire prints from East Riding Photos http://picturearchivesorg/eastridingphotos) A typical example of a mid-Victorian brickyard mill in the East Yorkshire coastal town of Hornsea. (Why not try searching our East Riding of Yorkshire Map for more historic images? www.flickr.com/photos/erarchives/map ) (Copyright) We're happy for you to share this digital image within the spirit of Creative Commons. Please cite 'East Riding Archives ' when reusing. Certain restrictions on high quality reproductions and commercial use of the original physical version apply. If unsure please email [email protected]
Owner: East Riding Archives
Views: 4562
Tags: black white vintage old photographs historic east riding yorkshire photograph



North Bar Without, Beverley 1860 (archive ref PE1-T38)
Description: (Buy exclusive historic East Yorkshire prints from East Riding Photos http://picturearchivesorg/eastridingphotos) This is possibly the first photograph taken of Beverley's iconic North Bar. Apart from the absence of vehicular traffic this is a remarkably unaltered scene to the present-day perspective. (Why not try searching our East Riding of Yorkshire Map for more historic images? www.flickr.com/photos/erarchives/map ) (Copyright) We're happy for you to share this digital image within the spirit of Creative Commons. Please cite 'East Riding Archives ' when reusing. Certain restrictions on high quality reproductions and commercial use of the original physical version apply. If unsure please email [email protected]
Owner: East Riding Archives
Views: 4368
Tags: black white vintage old photographs historic east riding yorkshire photograph



Opening of Driffield Waterworks 1880 (archive ref DDX2003-15-4)
Description: (Buy exclusive historic East Yorkshire prints from East Riding Photos http://picturearchivesorg/eastridingphotos) Today, the concept of a 'waterworks' seems a rather bland notion, but the opening ceremony for the waterworks at Driffield on the Yorkshire Wolds (pictured) heralded a step change for the infrastructure of this East Yorkshire town, and this is why it was celebrated with such fanfare back in 1880. (Why not try searching our East Riding of Yorkshire Map for more historic images? www.flickr.com/photos/erarchives/map ) (Copyright) We're happy for you to share this digital image within the spirit of Creative Commons. Please cite 'East Riding Archives ' when reusing. Certain restrictions on high quality reproductions and commercial use of the original physical version apply. If unsure please email [email protected]iding.gov.uk
Owner: East Riding Archives
Views: 4817
Tags: black white vintage old photographs historic east riding yorkshire photograph



Registry of Deeds, Register Square, Beverley 1870 (archive ref DDX328-17)
Description: (Buy exclusive historic East Yorkshire prints from East Riding Photos http://picturearchivesorg/eastridingphotos) The fascinating Register of Deeds, covering property transactions in East Yorkshire from 1708-1974, can now be searched at the East Riding Archives, but back in 1870 these remarkable volumes were housed in the building pictured here, situated close to the Guildhall. (Why not try searching our East Riding of Yorkshire Map for more historic images? www.flickr.com/photos/erarchives/map ) (Copyright) We're happy for you to share this digital image within the spirit of Creative Commons. Please cite 'East Riding Archives ' when reusing. Certain restrictions on high quality reproductions and commercial use of the original physical version apply. If unsure please email [email protected]
Owner: East Riding Archives
Views: 4499
Tags: black white vintage old photographs historic east riding yorkshire photograph



Lawson's Wagoners, East End, Walkington 1875 (archive ref PC43-72)
Description: (Buy exclusive historic East Yorkshire prints from East Riding Photos http://picturearchivesorg/eastridingphotos) This image shows Roger and Rotsey Lawson with their newly built East Yorkshire Wagon, made for C M Leaper of Walkington, East Yorkshire. (Why not try searching our East Riding of Yorkshire Map for more historic images? www.flickr.com/photos/erarchives/map ) (Copyright) We're happy for you to share this digital image within the spirit of Creative Commons. Please cite 'East Riding Archives ' when reusing. Certain restrictions on high quality reproductions and commercial use of the original physical version apply. If unsure please email [email protected]
Owner: East Riding Archives
Views: 4307
Tags: black white vintage old photographs historic east riding yorkshire photograph



South Dalton Church 1880 (archive ref DDX1948-1)
Description: (Buy exclusive historic East Yorkshire prints from East Riding Photos http://picturearchivesorg/eastridingphotos) The beautiful church at South Dalton, East Yorkshire, twenty years after its completion. The spire continues to act as one of the key landmarks of the Yorkshire Wolds landscape. (Why not try searching our East Riding of Yorkshire Map for more historic images? www.flickr.com/photos/erarchives/map ) (Copyright) We're happy for you to share this digital image within the spirit of Creative Commons. Please cite 'East Riding Archives ' when reusing. Certain restrictions on high quality reproductions and commercial use of the original physical version apply. If unsure please email [email protected]
Owner: East Riding Archives
Views: 4437
Tags: black white vintage old photographs historic east riding yorkshire photograph



The House of Correction, Beverley 1863 (archive ref DDX734-4)
Description: (Buy exclusive historic East Yorkshire prints from East Riding Photos http://picturearchivesorg/eastridingphotos) This photograph shows a group of prisoners and officials outside the House of Correction at Beverley, East Yorkshire. The Governor at the time was Alfred Shepherd, who may be the individual pictured in the centre of this image. By 1878 the House of Correction was handed over to the Home Office Prison Department and ceased to function. This photograph is thought be the only one in existence showing Beverley's House of Correction. (Why not try searching our East Riding of Yorkshire Map for more historic images? www.flickr.com/photos/erarchives/map ) (Copyright) We're happy for you to share this digital image within the spirit of Creative Commons. Please cite 'East Riding Archives ' when reusing. Certain restrictions on high quality reproductions and commercial use of the original physical version apply. If unsure please email [email protected]
Owner: East Riding Archives
Views: 7593
Tags: black white vintage old photographs historic east riding yorkshire photograph



'Tom Pudding train' on the canal at Goole 1882 (archive ref DDX882-19)
Description: (Buy exclusive historic East Yorkshire prints from East Riding Photos http://picturearchivesorg/eastridingphotos) The term 'Tom Pudding' was used to describe tub boats on the Aire and Calder Navigation. They were introduced in 1863 and remained in use until 1985. The tub boats carried coal from Stanley Ferry in South Yorkshire to the port of Goole in West Yorkshire (now part of the East Riding). Such was the popularity of the Tom Pudding train that it competed for some time with freight rail transportation. (Why not try searching our East Riding of Yorkshire Map for more historic images? www.flickr.com/photos/erarchives/map ) (Copyright) We're happy for you to share this digital image within the spirit of Creative Commons. Please cite 'East Riding Archives ' when reusing. Certain restrictions on high quality reproductions and commercial use of the original physical version apply. If unsure please email [email protected]
Owner: East Riding Archives
Views: 4040
Tags: black white vintage old photographs historic east riding yorkshire photograph



Industrial Schools, Letterfrack, Co. Galway
Description: Nestling under a twin of the Sugar Loaf Mountain is the Industrial School of Letterfrack. Set in the far wilds of Connemara it was known a feared place for its young occupants as much by reason of its dramatic location! Today's contributions (thankfully/unusually downbeat) highlighted how the pictured St Joseph's Industrial School, while initially set up with likely positive intentions, was so heavily referenced in the reports of the Commission to Inquire into Child Abuse that St Joseph of Letterfrack was labelled as "the cruel saint" by some. As per the comments below, based on the layout of the buildings pictured, it is expected that the 5 decade catalogue range (c.1860s-1910s) can be refined to perhaps a decade or so (c.1900-1910s).... Photographer: Robert French Collection: Lawrence Photograph Collection Date: Catalogue range of c.1865-1914. Likely c.1900-1910s. NLI Ref: L_ROY_05374 You can also view this image, and many thousands of others, on the NLI’s catalogue at catalogue.nli.ie
Owner: National Library of Ireland on The Commons
Views: 19639
Tags: robertfrench williamlawrence lawrencecollection lawrencephotographicstudio glassnegative nationallibraryofireland letterfrack connemara countygalway industrialschool



Bridlington Fire Station 1905 (archive ref DDX2031-3-1)
Description: (Buy exclusive historic East Yorkshire prints from East Riding Photos http://picturearchivesorg/eastridingphotos) Today, the fire station at Bridlington is situated on Bessingby Gate, opposite the high school. However, the location of the old station, pictured here in 1905, is currently a mystery (please leave a comment if you think you can help solve it). (Why not try searching our East Riding of Yorkshire Map for more historic images? www.flickr.com/photos/erarchives/map ) (Copyright) We're happy for you to share this digital image within the spirit of Creative Commons. Please cite 'East Riding Archives ' when reusing. Certain restrictions on high quality reproductions and commercial use of the original physical version apply. If unsure please email [email protected]
Owner: East Riding Archives
Views: 3972
Tags: station east yorkshire old photographs photos black white bw historic



Library of the Riga Infantry School
Description: The Riga Infantry School was founded on September 19th, 1940, shortly after the Soviet Occupation of Latvia in June 1940. From the beginning of the Nazi Invasion of the Soviet Union on June 22, 1941 until June 29th, both students and teachers of the Riga Infantry School were involved in the fighting. Riga was abandoned by the Soviets and occupied by the German forces on July 1st. The Riga Infantry School reopened on July 13th in the city of Sterlitamak in the Bashkir Autonomous Soviet Socialist Republic, this Republic being one of the main destinations of evacuees and evacuated infrastructure and factories during the war. While there, students and officers helped with various tasks as the war situation required, such as helping with laying electrical wire and harvesting crops. The Riga Infantry School was disbanded in 1946. This book stamp is from a book looted by the Nazis and sorted by Colonel Seymour Pomrenze, one of “the Monuments Men,” at the Offenbach Archival Depot. There are two scrapbooks of archival markings from the books sorted at the Offenbach Depot in the Seymour Pomrenze Collection held by the American Jewish Historical Society (Call number P-933) There is a finding aid for the collection here The digitized scrapbooks are available here and here. For more information on this project check the Center’s blog: 16thstreet.tumblr.com/tagged/Offenbach-Depot Dr. Mitch Fraas, Acting Director of the Digital Humanities Forum at the University of Pennsylvania Libraries' Special Collections Center is working on a similar project for the German book stamps based on NARA microfilm of the volumes the American Jewish Historical Society currently holds. See viewshare.org/views/mfraas/offenbach-bookplates/ The Center for Jewish History would like to acknowledge the following: The American Jewish Historical Society, who graciously allowed the use of their archival materials and digital content; Mitch Fraas, Acting Director of the Digital Humanities Forum at the University of Pennsylvania Libraries' Special Collections Center, for his data and technical assistance in this project; David Rosenberg, Senior Manager for Communications, and Melanie Meyers, Senior Reference Services Librarian for Special Collections, for managing and creating the digital map; as well as Reference Services Librarian Zachary Loeb and Reference Services Assistant Ilya Slavutskiy for their work on translating and mapping. For copyright information, click here
Owner: Center for Jewish History, NYC
Views: 2953
Tags: hardwareepsonexpression100 softwareepsonscanv220aan



Ellerker Mill (Demolition) 1913 (archive ref DDEY-1-67)
Description: (Buy exclusive historic East Yorkshire prints from East Riding Photos http://picturearchivesorg/eastridingphotos) An image of the windmill at Ellerker, East Yorkshire, as work begins on its demolition on 3rd April 1913. (Why not try searching our East Riding of Yorkshire Map for more historic images? www.flickr.com/photos/erarchives/map ) (Copyright) We're happy for you to share this digital image within the spirit of Creative Commons. Please cite 'East Riding Archives ' when reusing. Certain restrictions on high quality reproductions and commercial use of the original physical version apply. If unsure please email [email protected]
Owner: East Riding Archives
Views: 7918
Tags: windmill windmills old historic heritage east yorkshire riding rural villages



Hornsea Windmill 1900 (archive ref PO-1-65-46)
Description: (Buy exclusive prints of this image from East Riding Photos) Hornsea windmill on the East Yorkshire coast in 1900. (Why not try searching our East Riding of Yorkshire Map for more historic images? www.flickr.com/photos/erarchives/map ) (Copyright) We're happy for you to share this digital image within the spirit of Creative Commons. Please cite 'East Riding Archives ' when reusing. Certain restrictions on high quality reproductions and commercial use of the original physical version apply. If unsure please email [email protected]
Owner: East Riding Archives
Views: 3779
Tags: windmill windmills old historic heritage east yorkshire riding rural villages



Beverley Gas Works, Old Hull Road 1910 (archive ref DDX1544-1-11)
Description: (Buy exclusive historic East Yorkshire prints from East Riding Photos http://picturearchivesorg/eastridingphotos) This photograph shows a young lad with horses and cart stood outside the entrance to the Beverley Gas Works circa 1910. In 1824, a resolution was passed that the only practical solution for improving the standard of street lighting, was the introduction of a new light – Gas Lighting. Gas Light was introduced later that year in Beverley by an engineer/entrepreneur called John Malam who decided to build a gasworks, negotiating a contract for the lighting of 150 street lamps with the Commissioners. The imposing gateway to the gasworks, as seen in the image, was built in close proximity to Beverley Beck. The gateway still remains today, but has been reincorporated into new housing premises called Mill View Court. (Why not try searching our East Riding of Yorkshire Map for more historic images? www.flickr.com/photos/erarchives/map ) (Copyright) We're happy for you to share this digital image within the spirit of Creative Commons. Please cite 'East Riding Archives ' when reusing. Certain restrictions on high quality reproductions and commercial use of the original physical version apply. If unsure please email [email protected]
Owner: East Riding Archives
Views: 5850
Tags: old horses people streets industry vintage historic gas east riding



Pupils of Beverley Minster Girls School outside Admiral Walker Hall, c.1902 (archive ref DDX1544-1-6)
Description: (Buy exclusive historic East Yorkshire prints from East Riding Photos http://picturearchivesorg/eastridingphotos) Pupils of Beverley Minster Girls School pose outside Admiral Walker Hall, Lairgate, around 1902. This image depicts pupils celebrating Empire Day. A few of the girls are wearing sashes around their bodies for England, Scotland, Ireland, Singapore and Jamaica, in reference to the British Empire. The grand Georgian residence in the photograph belonged to Admiral Walker (1836-1925). Making his wealth from trade, he became firmly established as a member of the landed gentry in Beverley, but was also a generous benefactor of the town. Having served in the navy in the Crimean War, successive promotions led to his final rank in 1868 of Rear Admiral. (Why not try searching our East Riding of Yorkshire Map for more historic images? www.flickr.com/photos/erarchives/map ) (Copyright) We're happy for you to share this digital image within the spirit of Creative Commons. Please cite 'East Riding Archives ' when reusing. Certain restrictions on high quality reproductions and commercial use of the original physical version apply. If unsure please email [email protected]
Owner: East Riding Archives
Views: 5607
Tags: old school houses vintage children hall day east celebration riding



North Bar Without pre 1867 ( archive ref DDX1544-1-4 )
Description: (Buy exclusive historic East Yorkshire prints from East Riding Photos http://picturearchivesorg/eastridingphotos) North Bar without, pre 1867 Once called Without North Bar and, like its neighbour North Bar Within, this street dates back to the reign of Elizabeth I, which runs from the northern side of the Bar until it becomes New Walk to the south of the cemetery. It was called Queen Street and sometimes Pucards Lane, a name more frequently used for Wylies Road. Prior to the building of New Walk, the northern part of North Bar Without was also called Molescroft Lane and was colloquially known as the road to Molescroft. The name derives from outside the Bar and therefore outside the town walls. Next to the Bar itself, is the Bar House. With 17th century origins, it was altered by William Middleton , renowned Beverley builder and architect in the 18th century and again re-modelled by William Hawe, architect and surveyor, in 1866. During in this century it became the home of the Beverley artist, Fred Elwell. (Why not try searching our East Riding of Yorkshire Map for more historic images? www.flickr.com/photos/erarchives/map ) (Copyright) We're happy for you to share this digital image within the spirit of Creative Commons. Please cite 'East Riding Archives ' when reusing. Certain restrictions on high quality reproductions and commercial use of the original physical version apply. If unsure please email [email protected]
Owner: East Riding Archives
Views: 4191
Tags: old houses house streets bar buildings gate north historic east



Prince Albert's statue, Leinster Lawn
Description: Prince Albert and four others, this could make for an interesting Friday. I wonder where it is now? I am intrigued by the orientation of this Lawrence photo, we do not get a portrait presentation very often. (Edit - I have had a look and there are some but it is a very low percentage) With thanks to all the amazing contributions today, including inputs from Niall McAuley, B-59, sharon.corbet, beachcomberaustralia and Houses of the Oireachtas it is confirmed that this statue is still on Leinster Lawn, close to the entrance to the Natural History Museum in Dublin. The Prince Albert statue, together with the companion allegorical sculptures representing Art, Science, Industry and Agriculture, is by John Henry Foley (1818-1874) and seemingly one of the last of its type in a municipal public setting in the capital.... Photographer: Robert French Collection: Lawrence Photograph Collection Date: 1865-1914 (likely not before 1870s however) NLI Ref: L_CAB_01225 You can also view this image, and many thousands of others, on the NLI’s catalogue at catalogue.nli.ie
Owner: National Library of Ireland on The Commons
Views: 15667
Tags: robertfrench williamlawrence lawrencecollection lawrencephotographicstudio glassnegative nationallibraryofireland leinsterlawn leinsterhouse merrionstreet dublin



Princes Parade - Floral Clock, Bridlington, c.1907 (archive ref PO-1-20-84)
Description: (Buy exclusive prints of this image from East Riding Photos) The floral clock was officially opened by the Mayor and Mayoress in 1907 and was created by S R Crofts (the Town’s Gardener) and had a diameter of approximately 19 feet. The mechanical elements of the clock were supplied by Messrs J Ritchie and Son from Edinburgh. (Why not try searching our East Riding of Yorkshire Map for more historic images? www.flickr.com/photos/erarchives/map ) (Copyright) We're happy for you to share this digital image within the spirit of Creative Commons. Please cite 'East Riding Archives ' when reusing. Certain restrictions on high quality reproductions and commercial use of the original physical version apply. If unsure please email [email protected]
Owner: East Riding Archives
Views: 8033
Tags: bridlington postcard old 1900s seaside east riding historic tourism clock



Ancient grave monuments and a rune stone, Skatelöv, Småland, Sweden
Description: Ancient area in Skatelöv with ancient grave momuments and to the left a rune stone (Sm 7). Two churches on each side of the image. Wash drawing from the early 19th century. Fornlämningsområde i Skatelöv med gravfält och till vänster en runsten (Sm 7). Två kyrkor på vardera sida av bilden. Laverad teckning från tidigt 1800-tal. Collection: The Liljegren Collection / the Collection of drawings, watercolours and prints, Archives of the Swedish National Heritage Board Parish (socken): Skatelöv Province (landskap): Småland Municipality (kommun): Alvesta County (län): Kronoberg Photograph by: Lars Kennerstedt Date: 2015 Persistent URL: kmb.raa.se/cocoon/bild/show-image.html?id=16001000537432
Owner: Swedish National Heritage Board
Views: 6626
Tags: trees landscape riksantikvarieämbetet theswedishnationalheritageboard



Jönköping Castle and Fortifications, Småland, Sweden
Description: Jönköping castle and fortifications, from the early 17th century. Watercolour by Olof Hermelin, from c. 1870. Jönköpings slott och fästningsverk, från början av 1600-talet. Akvarell av Olof Hermelin, från cirka 1870. Collection: The Collection of drawings, watercolours and prints, Archives of the Swedish National Heritage Board Parish (socken): Jönköping Province (landskap): Småland Municipality (kommun): Jönköping County (län): Jönköping Photograph by: Lars Kennerstedt Date: 2015 Persistent URL: kmb.raa.se/cocoon/bild/show-image.html?id=16001000535195
Owner: Swedish National Heritage Board
Views: 5838
Tags: riksantikvarieämbetet theswedishnationalheritageboard



Angel. Depiction of medieval stained glass window in Hejde Church, Gotland, Sweden
Description: Angel with a thurible. Depiction of medieval stained glass window in the chancel of Hejde church. Watercolour by Gustava Meukow, from August 1892. Ängel med rökelsekar. Avbildning av medeltida glasmålning i koret i Hejde kyrka. Akvarell av Gustava Meukow, från augusti 1892. Collection: The Collection of drawings, watercolours and prints, Archives of the Swedish National Heritage Board Parish (socken): Hejde Province (landskap): Gotland Municipality (kommun): Gotland County (län): Gotland Photograph by: Lars Kennerstedt Date: 2013 Persistent URL: kmb.raa.se/cocoon/bild/show-image.html?id=16001000526708
Owner: Swedish National Heritage Board
Views: 6596
Tags: riksantikvarieämbetet theswedishnationalheritageboard



Emmy Souter of South Cave with bicycle c.1900s (archive ref DDEY-1-180)
Description: (Buy exclusive historic East Yorkshire prints from East Riding Photos http://picturearchivesorg/eastridingphotos) (Why not try searching our East Riding of Yorkshire Map for more historic images? www.flickr.com/photos/erarchives/map ) (Copyright) We're happy for you to share this digital image within the spirit of Creative Commons. Please cite 'East Riding Archives ' when reusing. Certain restrictions on high quality reproductions and commercial use of the original physical version apply. If unsure please email [email protected]
Owner: East Riding Archives
Views: 3763
Tags: old woman history hat bike bicycle lady south transport historic



Gala Day Celebrations at Owthorne c.1909 (archive ref DDX1442-4)
Description: (Buy exclusive historic East Yorkshire prints from East Riding Photos http://picturearchivesorg/eastridingphotos) Photograph of Phyllis Irene Cummings with bicycle at Owthorne, Withernsea, celebrating 'Gala Day'. Phyllis Irene Cummings was born in 1899. (Why not try searching our East Riding of Yorkshire Map for more historic images? www.flickr.com/photos/erarchives/map ) (Copyright) We're happy for you to share this digital image within the spirit of Creative Commons. Please cite 'East Riding Archives ' when reusing. Certain restrictions on high quality reproductions and commercial use of the original physical version apply. If unsure please email [email protected]
Owner: East Riding Archives
Views: 4642
Tags: old history girl bike bicycle festival outdoors day transport historic



Arrival at City Square, Hull, HRH Prince Philip and The Lady Mayoress Mrs E Kirkwood 13th July 1977 (archive ref CCHU-4-1-9-2)
Description: (Buy exclusive historic East Yorkshire prints from East Riding Photos http://picturearchivesorg/eastridingphotos) (Why not try searching our East Riding of Yorkshire Map for more historic images? www.flickr.com/photos/erarchives/map ) (Copyright) We're happy for you to share this digital image within the spirit of Creative Commons. Please cite 'East Riding Archives ' when reusing. Certain restrictions on high quality reproductions and commercial use of the original physical version apply. If unsure please email [email protected]
Owner: East Riding Archives
Views: 4032
Tags: silver edinburgh elizabeth jubilee royal duke prince visit flags her



The Royal Yacht Britannia in King George Dock, Hull 13th July 1977 (archive ref CCHU-4-1-9-2)
Description: (Buy exclusive historic East Yorkshire prints from East Riding Photos http://picturearchivesorg/eastridingphotos) On 13th July 1977, Her Majesty The Queen and HRH Prince Philip arrived in Hull, England, onboard the Royal Yacht Britannia, as part of the Royal Silver Jubilee tour. At the time, Hull was part of the administrative region known as 'Humberside'. (Why not try searching our East Riding of Yorkshire Map for more historic images? www.flickr.com/photos/erarchives/map ) (Copyright) We're happy for you to share this digital image within the spirit of Creative Commons. Please cite 'East Riding Archives ' when reusing. Certain restrictions on high quality reproductions and commercial use of the original physical version apply. If unsure please email [email protected]
Owner: East Riding Archives
Views: 4942
Tags: her majesty the queen hrh prince philip his royal highness



Walkabout in Whitefriargate, Hull, by Her Majesty The Queen 13th July 1977 (archive ref CCHU-4-1-9-2)
Description: (Buy exclusive historic East Yorkshire prints from East Riding Photos http://picturearchivesorg/eastridingphotos) Crowds with Union flags adorn the street of Whitefriargate, Hull, England, as Her Majesty The Queen and HRH The Duke of Edinburgh greet the eager onlookers on the occasion of Royal Silver Jubilee. Also present is Councillor E Kirkwood, Lord Mayor. (Why not try searching our East Riding of Yorkshire Map for more historic images? www.flickr.com/photos/erarchives/map ) (Copyright) We're happy for you to share this digital image within the spirit of Creative Commons. Please cite 'East Riding Archives ' when reusing. Certain restrictions on high quality reproductions and commercial use of the original physical version apply. If unsure please email [email protected]
Owner: East Riding Archives
Views: 4771
Tags: silver edinburgh elizabeth jubilee royal police duke prince visit flags



The Square, Baltinglass, Co. Wicklow
Description: A fine shot today from the Eason Collection with old forms of transport occupying a broad square but with perhaps a crowd(?) in the distance. The catalogue date range puts this in the first quarter of the 20th century, and the information that Niall McAuley provides for the visible Michael Dwyer memorial corroborates that. Thanks to beachcomberaustralia for sharing some extra detail on Michael Dwyer himself. We're not sure what has drawn the small crowd in the background by Chapel Hill, but the collection of carts suggests a mart on the east-side of Market Square... Photographer: Unknown Collection: Eason Photographic Collection Date: Between 1900 - 1939 NLI Ref: EAS_3856 You can also view this image, and many thousands of others, on the NLI’s catalogue at catalogue.nli.ie
Owner: National Library of Ireland on The Commons
Views: 21879
Tags: eason easonson easoncollection easonphotographiccollection glassnegative nationallibraryofireland square baltinglass countywicklow mainstreet



Library of the Union of Russian Teachers in Latvia
Description: The Union of Russian Teachers in Latvia was established in January 1919 during the Latvian War of Independence against Soviet Russia. It served mostly as a professional and scientifically-oriented organization. It did not concern itself with Russian schools in Latvia. This book stamp is from a book looted by the Nazis and sorted by Colonel Seymour Pomrenze, one of “the Monuments Men,” at the Offenbach Archival Depot. There are two scrapbooks of archival markings from the books sorted at the Offenbach Depot in the Seymour Pomrenze Collection held by the American Jewish Historical Society (Call number P-933) There is a finding aid for the collection here The digitized scrapbooks are available here and here. For more information on this project check the Center’s blog: 16thstreet.tumblr.com/tagged/Offenbach-Depot Dr. Mitch Fraas, Acting Director of the Digital Humanities Forum at the University of Pennsylvania Libraries' Special Collections Center is working on a similar project for the German book stamps based on NARA microfilm of the volumes the American Jewish Historical Society currently holds. See viewshare.org/views/mfraas/offenbach-bookplates/ The Center for Jewish History would like to acknowledge the following: The American Jewish Historical Society, who graciously allowed the use of their archival materials and digital content; Mitch Fraas, Acting Director of the Digital Humanities Forum at the University of Pennsylvania Libraries' Special Collections Center, for his data and technical assistance in this project; David Rosenberg, Senior Manager for Communications, and Melanie Meyers, Senior Reference Services Librarian for Special Collections, for managing and creating the digital map; as well as Reference Services Librarian Zachary Loeb and Reference Services Assistant Ilya Slavutskiy for their work on translating and mapping. For copyright information, click here
Owner: Center for Jewish History, NYC
Views: 2958
Tags: hardwareepsonexpression100 softwareepsonscanv220aan



Sölvesborg Castle ruin, Blekinge, Sweden
Description: Ruins of Sölvesborg castle from the early 14th century. Lithograph from 1804, after drawing by Jonas Carl Linnerhielm 1803. Ruinerna av Sölvesborgs slott från tidigt 1300-tal. Litografi från 1804, efter teckning av Jonas Carl Linnerhielm 1803. Collection: The Collection of drawings, watercolours and prints, Archives of the Swedish National Heritage Board Parish (socken): Sölvesborg Province (landskap): Blekinge Municipality (kommun): Sölvesborg County (län): Blekinge Photograph by: Lars Kennerstedt Date: 2013 Persistent URL: kmb.raa.se/cocoon/bild/show-image.html?id=16001000512766
Owner: Swedish National Heritage Board
Views: 5464
Tags: riksantikvarieämbetet theswedishnationalheritageboard



Dolmen, Tegneby, Orust, Bohuslän, Sweden
Description: Prehistoric stone chamber tomb, Lunneslätt pasture in Tegneby parish on the island of Orust. Drawing from Nils Henrik Sjöborg: Samlingar för Nordens Fornälskare, 1822. Förhistorisk stenkammargrav, Lunneslätts kohage i Tegneby socken på Orust. Teckning ur Nils Henrik Sjöborg: Samlingar för Nordens Fornälskare, 1822. Collection: The Collection of drawings, watercolours and prints, Archives of the Swedish National Heritage Board. Parish (socken): Tegneby Province (landskap): Bohuslän Municipality (kommun): Orust County (län): Västra Götaland Photograph by: Lars Kennerstedt Date: 2013 Persistent URL: kmb.raa.se/cocoon/bild/show-image.html?id=16001000523426
Owner: Swedish National Heritage Board
Views: 7024
Tags: riksantikvarieämbetet theswedishnationalheritageboard