This new cairn is located at the site of the Inn on the way to the Narrows:
"On your left, where the Red Pines now grow, stood the iconic Bon Echo Inn. Standing from 1900 to 1936, it was an early example of the many lodges and resorts that would spring up throughout the Canadian wilderness.
Its extensive porches provided unparalleled views of Mazinaw Rock and attracted the well-to-do from southern Ontario and the northeast United States.
After 1910, under the ownership of Flora MacDonald Denison and later, her son Merrill, it became a cultural hub. Many of the artistic elite of Canada, including members of the Group of Seven, visited and worked here.
Sadly, it closed in 1928 and was later destroyed by fire in 1936. While gone, we can still experience its magic appeal by sitting and gazing at the Rock, as so many have done before."
Part of the Bon Echo Provincial Park Album.
Note: Commercial use of this image is prohibited without CDHS permission. All CDHS Flickr content is available for personal use providing our Rights Statement is followed:
Owner: Cloyne & District Historical Society
Source: Flickr Commons