The Skootamatta Lodge has a rich history. Beginning in 1925, George Pearson Sr. had the Lodge constructed under the leadership of ARO (Alfred Ross Oborne) as a summer home for the Pearson family. In the 1950s the Lodge was sold to the Machans, Bill Machan shares his childhood memories of the Lodge here: pioneer.mazinaw.on.ca/document-archives/
Note: Muriel and John Vaness were married at the Lodge in 1957. The dinner was provided for guests and family here too. The reception was held in the Cloyne Hall (Barrie Township Hall). At the time Muriel's sister Joan and her husband Carl Mason owned the property. Joan currently (2021 lives in Bloomfield, NY) and Carl passed away a few years ago. Hopefully photos of the wedding will be added at a later date.
Part of the Bill Machan Album
Note: Commercial use of this image is prohibited without CDHS permission. All CDHS Flickr content is available for personal use providing our Rights Statement is followed:
Owner: Cloyne & District Historical Society
Source: Flickr Commons