These 12,256 images need to be put on the timeline? Can you help pin their When?

2319-2323 Brunswick St. - West House
Description: Date: 1965 Photographer: Building Inspector, Works Department Format: b&w negative ; 6 x 6 cm Retrieval Code: Halifax Works Department photograph, 102-39-1-603.12
Owner: Halifax Municipal Archives
Views: 4071
Tags: halifax novascotia canada archives history architecture houses brunswickst



Description: I've been in Dublin for a long time now but this is not a castle or ruins that I am familiar with. It looks like it was a significant establishment in its day and would be a real attraction today(?) I look forward with interest to what you may be able to find about this... .... And the reason it didn't look familiar (as a castle in or near Dublin) is that it is neither. It is not a castle - but an abbey. And is not in/near Dublin - but more than 30 miles from the capital in Bective, County Meath. The cataloguer may be forgiven however, as the abbey's "castle-like qualities" were seemingly why it was used as a filming-location for 'Braveheart' in the 1990s. Without Mel Gibson peering from a window however, dating may be difficult - not least given how remarkably little has changed in the 100 or so years since this image was captured :) Photographer: Unknown Collection: Eason Photographic Collection Date: c.1900-1939 (possibly after c.1915 when some works were undertaken at the site) NLI Ref: EAS_1727 You can also view this image, and many thousands of others, on the NLI’s catalogue at catalogue.nli.ie
Owner: National Library of Ireland on The Commons
Views: 11040
Tags: eason easonson easoncollection easonphotographiccollection glassnegative 20thcentury nationallibraryofireland castleruins ireland bective



Inver, Co. Donegal - Introducing Jaunty?
Description: While searching our catalogue for suitable photographs to share on this stream, I came across this one. Nothing exceptional I hear you say! But then I had a look at: General View, Bruckless, General View, Fintragh and Church, Killaghtee, all in Donegal. These photos got me thinking, I hope they get you thinking too.... .... And so it seems that "great minds" think alike. The general consensus is that this image (and more than a few others in the Lawrence series) probably captures members of a Lawrence studio "crew". Comprising a jaunting car driver (who seems to change from time to time), almost certainly an assistant (the younger man in the bowler), and perhaps Robert French himself (behind the camera and hence not captured here). The man presumed to be the assistant, and who was quickly nicknamed "Jaunty" today (for his attire and near ubiquitous presence on/near the jaunting car), has since been spotted in a dozen or so Lawrence images. To the extent that we're a little surprised we hadn't spotted him before :) Thanks to mcginley2012, we also learned today that the actual titular subject of the image (Inver Bridge) was washed away in the 1960s. A modern roadbridge now carries the N56 over this stretch of the Eany.... Photographer: Robert French Collection: Lawrence Photograph Collection Date: c.1880-1900 (likely 1880s) NLI Ref: L_ROY_01503 You can also view this image, and many thousands of others, on the NLI’s catalogue at catalogue.nli.ie
Owner: National Library of Ireland on The Commons
Views: 11130
Tags: robertfrench williamlawrence lawrencecollection lawrencephotographicstudio thelawrencephotographcollection glassnegative nationallibraryofireland inver codonegal ulster



Wolf's Arch, Kilkenny City, Co. Kilkenny
Description: From the childish charm of Monday to the rustic history of Tuesday! This building in Kilkenny is a very distinctive, and captured in a particularly fine image, with good detail of the arch and adjacent buildings. It looks like early in the day to me, but there are no dogs in evidence and as the old motto goes "Mad dogs and Englishmen go out in the noonday sun"! Thanks to fantastic inputs on this image (including from B-59, Niall McAuley, beachcomberaustralia, O Mac, and guliolopez), we learned a lot more about the subject and date. It is confirmed that this is Rothe House, a late-16th century townhouse in Kilkenny's medieval centre. Built by the merchant Rothe family, there's strong evidence that it was captured in this Lawrence/French image early in the catalogue range - probably the 1860s. The strongest evidence of this (apart from the dress and marvelous mutton-chops of the chaps standing unironically outside the barbers) is the poster beside the arch. The poster advertises a "lecture" in "Electro-Biology and Phrenology" - both common to a branch of practiced "sciences" which were fashionable in the 1850s and 1860s. As part-alternative medicine and part-entertainment... Photographer: Robert French Collection: Lawrence Photograph Collection Date: Catalogue range c.1865-1914. Likely c.1860s NLI Ref: L_CAB_00982 You can also view this image, and many thousands of others, on the NLI’s catalogue at catalogue.nli.ie
Owner: National Library of Ireland on The Commons
Views: 12619
Tags: robertfrench williamlawrence lawrencecollection lawrencephotographicstudio thelawrencephotographcollection glassnegative nationallibraryofireland wolfsarch kilkennycity ireland



There's a hairy ass fair in the County Clare
Description: Kilkee in Co. Clare rather than Spancil Hill, but lots of asses/donkeys on display! A favourite holiday resort for people from Limerick City and others, it has a beautiful crescent beach with sparkling blue waters and pleasant walks. In this shot it seems as if there is a market or fair in operation - or perhaps it is the donkey rides getting ready for the season? The community's general feeling is that it's the latter, and (based on the buildings visible and not visible) a view of the tourist season perhaps in the 1880s.... Photographer: Robert French Collection: Lawrence Photograph Collection Date: Catalogue range c.1865-1914. Though perhaps before c.1890s NLI Ref: L_ROY_04230 You can also view this image, and many thousands of others, on the NLI’s catalogue at catalogue.nli.ie
Owner: National Library of Ireland on The Commons
Views: 17089
Tags: robertfrench williamlawrence lawrencecollection lawrencephotographicstudio thelawrencephotographcollection glassnegative nationallibraryofireland kilkee coclare ireland



Sitka National Monument 1962-65, page 92 [Original Caption: Peter Seegama working on ivory]
Description: Creator(s): Department of the Interior. Indian Arts and Crafts Board. Alaska Field Office. ca. 1935-ca. 1983 Series: Correspondence, 1935 - 1983 Record Group 435: Records of the Indian Arts and Crafts Board, 1929 - 1988 Production Date: 1935 - 1983 Access Restriction(s):Unrestricted Use Restriction(s):Unrestricted Contact(s): National Archives at Seattle (RW-SE) 6125 Sand Point Way NE Seattle, WA 98115-7999 Phone: 206-336-5115 Fax: 206-336-5112 Email: [email protected] National Archives Identifier: 40847573 Local Identifier: SEAL-57 Persistent URL: catalog.archives.gov/id/40847573
Owner: The U.S. National Archives
Views: 4922
Tags: “us national archives” “alaska digitization project”



Tlingit Totem
Description: Creator(s): Department of the Interior. National Park Service. Alaska Region. 12/2/1980- (Most Recent) Department of the Interior. National Park Service. Pacific Northwest Region. 1970-1995 (Predecessor) Series: Alaska Task Force Photographs, 1972 - 1976 Record Group 79: Records of the National Park Service, 1785 - 2006 Production Date: 1972 - 1976 Access Restriction(s):Unrestricted Use Restriction(s):Unrestricted Contact(s): National Archives at Seattle (RW-SE) 6125 Sand Point Way NE Seattle, WA 98115-7999 Phone: 206-336-5115 Fax: 206-336-5112 Email: [email protected] National Archives Identifier: 42213912 Local Identifier: SEAL-609 Persistent URL: catalog.archives.gov/id/42213912
Owner: The U.S. National Archives
Views: 8849
Tags: “us national archives” “alaska digitization project”



Openluchtschool van Diesterweg's Hulpkas, 1905 | Open-air school from Diesterweg's Hulpkas, 1905
Description: Kinderen poseren met hun begeleiders, Heide-Kalmthout, 1905. "Diesterweg’s Hulpkas voor Behoeftige Schoolkinderen" (Antwerpen) richtte in 1904 een van de eerste openluchtscholen ter wereld op, de “Diesterweg's Bestendige Schoolkolonie” te Kalmthout. Zwakkere kinderen uit de Antwerpse stadsscholen konden er gedurende een aantal maanden van een kuur genieten. De leerplicht werd in 1914 in België ingevoerd. Children pose with their teachers, Kalmthout, 1905. "Diesterweg’s Hulpkas voor Behoeftige Schoolkinderen", a childcare organisation founded by teachers of the Antwerp city schools to assist pupils of poor families, also started with one of the first open air schools in history at Kalmthout. Children with poor health were allowed to spend several months in the open air school. Compulsory education was implemented in Belgium in 1914. Photo by Antonius Van Horenbeeck, 1905. Liberaal Archief / Collectie Kartons. Liberaal Archief Kramersplein 23 9000 Gent www.liberaalarchief.be
Owner: Liberaal Archief - Liberas
Views: 4162
Tags: diesterwegshulpkas liberaalarchiefvzw vakantiekolonie 1906 vintage groupphotos children school education childcare



Bazaar, Blackrock, Co. Louth
Description: "Bazaar" a word much used in past years and seldom seen now! An ancient Persian name for an enclosed market, the Bazaar enabled the development of cities in the ancient world. An example in Blackrock therefore might lead to hopes that it would enable the development of a metropolis? Perhaps streetview might show us if it was a success? While the streetview offered during today's investigation doesn't imply a sprawling metropolis, it does confirm that the bazaar is still standing, and now a fruit and veg shop. As well as confirming the location and subject, today's contributors suggest a possible date range: using the visible penny periodicals to refine the five decade catalogue range to a decade or so c.1900. (Seemingly the "1d Pictorial Magazine" was first published c.1899, and the "Scraps Magazine" ceased publication in 1910). Whether the two chaps to the right are visiting the seaside from nearby Dundalk, members of the Casey family (proprieters and sub-postmasters) or just local photo-bombers, we may never know :) Photographer: Robert French Collection: Lawrence Photograph Collection Date: Catalogue range c.1865-1914. Likely c.1899-1910 NLI Ref: L_ROY_06742 You can also view this image, and many thousands of others, on the NLI’s catalogue at catalogue.nli.ie
Owner: National Library of Ireland on The Commons
Views: 15222
Tags: robertfrench williamlawrence lawrencecollection lawrencephotographicstudio thelawrencephotographcollection glassnegative nationallibraryofireland bazaar blackrock colouth



Church, Interior Memorial, Ballyshannon, Co. Donegal
Description: A day to remember with a memorial in a church in Ballyshannon in Co. Donegal. At first sight the figures would appear to be police but other services also wore similar helmets at times. It is obviously a memorial to the fallen, as the "reversed" rifles is a sign of respect for the dead. Where is it and who does it commemorate? With thanks to today's contributors, it is confirmed that this image connects to the Tríd an Lionsa sequence we shared last year, and captures a memorial to an RIC inspector who died in events covered in an episode of that TV series. As noted by the guys below, District Inspector William Martin was killed in violent circumstances during the 1889 Land War, while attempting to arrest the "Patriot Priest" Fr James McFadden. The series of trials that followed were among the first in the country to use photographic evidence (evidence which seemingly persuaded the jury to a reduced sentence and plea bargain).... Photographer: Robert French Collection: Lawrence Photograph Collection Date: Catalogue range c.1865-1914. Though after 1889. NLI Ref: L_ROY_03125 You can also view this image, and many thousands of others, on the NLI’s catalogue at catalogue.nli.ie
Owner: National Library of Ireland on The Commons
Views: 10512
Tags: robertfrench williamlawrence lawrencecollection lawrencephotographicstudio thelawrencephotographcollection glassnegative nationallibraryofireland church memorial ballyshannon



Belfast Bank in Coleraine - an Oxymoron?
Description: Though the doors are shut, we're going to the bank today - in the hope that we will get (a) some old money and (b) goods at the prices that prevailed when this image was taken. The Belfast Bank in Coleraine was a substantial building. And, judging by the curtains on the first floor, the bank's manager lived in the building - as was the practice until relatively recently. Incredible detail was added on the main subject of this image, with a general consensus that the image dates to within a few years of the bank's completion between 1892 & 1894. As noted in the comments, the Belfast Bank was not limited to the province's principal city, with branches throughout the region. The Belfast Banking Company itself was seemingly founded in the 1820s and taken-over by Midland Bank, merging with the now more familiar Northern Bank in the 1970s.... Photographer: Robert French Collection: Lawrence Photograph Collection Date: Catalogue range c.1880-1900. Though likely mid/late 1890s NLI Ref: L_ROY_04969 You can also view this image, and many thousands of others, on the NLI’s catalogue at catalogue.nli.ie
Owner: National Library of Ireland on The Commons
Views: 11411
Tags: robertfrench williamlawrence lawrencecollection lawrencephotographicstudio thelawrencephotographcollection glassnegative nationallibraryofireland belfastbank coleraine countyderry



Downshire Bridge and the Cut, Banbridge, Co. Down
Description: This lovely image of Banbridge seems to have all the hallmarks of a Robert French image but it is in the Eason Collection. Whoever the photographer was, he decided to do an Irish version of the "Hay Wain" as that hay wain there is way overloaded! Does that give us at least a time of year if not an actual date? As the location was already confirmed, today's discussion focused on the subject and date. On the latter, inputs on the date from beachcomberaus (who reminds us that William Ritchie & Sons started publishing postcards like this from 1903), and Niall McAuley (who trawled more than a few street directories) have helped refine the range to a few years at the end of the first decade of the 20th century. On the subject, [https://www.flickr.com/photos/[email protected]] and [https://www.flickr.com/photos/[email protected]] illustrate that "the cut" was a 19th century engineering project - to help horse-drawn traffic through the town. At least some of which was of clearly overfilled carts :) Photographer: Unknown Collection: Eason Photographic Collection Date: Catalogue range c.1900-1939. Likely c.1907-1910 NLI Ref: EAS_1182 You can also view this image, and many thousands of others, on the NLI’s catalogue at catalogue.nli.ie
Owner: National Library of Ireland on The Commons
Views: 11760
Tags: eason easonson easoncollection easonphotographiccollection glassnegative 20thcentury nationallibraryofireland bridge banbridge codown



Bridge and Stronghold - The following plates are not lettered and therefore not authentic, Athy, Co. Kerry
Description: This fine shot of the bridge and stronghold at Athy is from the Eason Collection. I have deliberately included the title as shown because it raises questions and of course Athy is NOT in Co, Kerry! The staff at NLI include all information on a file as provided to them regardless of how inaccurate it may seem. When research clarifies the matter and they can include the correct information then they update the file and correct the error! As today's commenters note, we've visited the delightfully named Cromaboo Bridge and White's Castle each previously. [https://www.flickr.com/photos/beachcomberaustralia] suggests that (based on the ivy growth on the castle, and possibly coroberated by the fashions visible on the megazoom[tm]) today's image may predate the previously shared image of White's Castle - which was proposed to date to the 1920s or later.... Photographer: Unknown Collection: Eason Photographic Collection Date: c.1900-1939 (though possibly <1920s per comments) NLI Ref: EAS_2402 You can also view this image, and many thousands of others, on the NLI’s catalogue at catalogue.nli.ie
Owner: National Library of Ireland on The Commons
Views: 11805
Tags: eason easonson easoncollection easonphotographiccollection glassnegative 20thcentury nationallibraryofireland bridge castle river



Lynchs Castle, Shop Street, Galway
Description: In a New Year of promise and expectation we have the old reliable Robert French of Lawrence Photography to start us off. Here is Lynch's Castle, Shop Street in Galway on what must have been a quiet day. Today, even early in the morning this street seems to hum with life, those up early, those going home late, those that have little to do but stand around and, inevitably, the music and life of the city! To all a Happy New Year from all at Library Towers and the Three Marys! Photographer: Robert French Collection: Lawrence Photograph Collection Date: c.1880-1900 (though possibly later than c.1900, given apparent electric street lighting) NLI Ref: L_ROY_00881 You can also view this image, and many thousands of others, on the NLI’s catalogue at catalogue.nli.ie
Owner: National Library of Ireland on The Commons
Views: 11688
Tags: robertfrench williamlawrence lawrencecollection lawrencephotographicstudio thelawrencephotographcollection glassnegative nationallibraryofireland shopstreet galway lynchscastle



Blessings of Christmas - Beannachtaí na Nollag
Description: To all our followers, to the many who have contributed to the NLI Flickr stream during the year, we wish you a very merry and peaceful Christmas season and all the blessings of a Happy New Year. We have had a wonderful 2016 on the stream, and look forward to another in 2017! This would not be possible without your help, research, contributions and interest, and we would like you to know that all at the NLI are very grateful for all that you have done! Watch this space because we hope to explore even more aspects of the misty past in 2017! Date: c.1876 NLI Ref: Arthur Conan's Xmas Scrapbook, 4188 TX 2
Owner: National Library of Ireland on The Commons
Views: 15889
Tags: christmas break nollag christmasgreeting ephemera scrapbook xmas arthurconan nationallibraryofireland



Holy Well, Slieve League, Co. Donegal
Description: From the commerce of Portadown to the faith and the cure in Slieve League, Co. Donegal! This fine shot of a group at a Holy Well seems to show two locals offering a passing tourist a drink of water from the well. The dress of the tourist and the items laid down beside him would indicate that he may have been hiking. And the solid and hob nailed boots of the man at the front of the well might show that he is a guide rather than a keeper of the well(?) Thanks to today's contributors we're able to map this to the paths of Slieve League - if not perhaps the exact spot. Inputs from beachcomberaustralia offer some thoughts on the scene (and that the touristy looking chap may be a cyclist rather than a dedicated hiker). Beachcomber shares an extract from an 1897 tourist visit to the area. And points out that other sights mentioned in that extract are also covered in the catalogue - suggesting that perhaps the areas wasn't quite as remote and untouristed as we might first have imagined:   The whole forenoon should be devoted to exploring the cliff scenery of Slieve League. A cycle can only be utilised for a few miles from the hotel, but a pony can be hired for 5s, which sum is the charge for a guide also [...] The "One Man's Path," near the summit of Slieve League, is a trip for the strong nerved [...] The saint's cross, his bed, and his well can be seen; and many quaint legends gathered [...] - Clarence and Richmond Examiner, NSW, September 1897 Photographer: Robert French Collection: Lawrence Photograph Collection Date:between ca. 1865-1914 NLI Ref: L_ROY_01466 You can also view this image, and many thousands of others, on the NLI’s catalogue at catalogue.nli.ie
Owner: National Library of Ireland on The Commons
Views: 14446
Tags: robertfrench williamlawrence lawrencecollection lawrencephotographicstudio thelawrencephotographcollection glassnegative nationallibraryofireland holywell slieveleague codonegal



High Street, Portadown
Description: Up to the "wee North" today with a fine Lawrence shot of High Street in Portadown. A fine broad street, big well-built premises, gas lamps, and horse apples in abundance - all might mean this was late 1800s...? ....Or perhaps not the late 1800s after-all. Thanks to today's contributions (and the high-res megazoom version) the community's eagle-eyes spotted an apparently dated shop-window display suggesting a date of 1906. Niall McAuley's census and street-directory investigations would seem to corroberate this - as Hoy's boot-sellers (far left) seem to have left Portadown sometime between 1901 and 1910. Perhaps the "cheap boots sale" we see advertised was actually a closing/relocation sale? Courtney (the "Italian Warehouseman"?) seems to have been around for a few years after this image. And is it no wonder he did a busy trade, given that (as advertised) he always had "pickles in stock"! :) Photographer: Robert French Collection: Lawrence Photograph Collection Date: Catalogue range c.1865-1914. Possibly c.1906 NLI Ref: L_ROY_09282 You can also view this image, and many thousands of others, on the NLI’s catalogue at catalogue.nli.ie
Owner: National Library of Ireland on The Commons
Views: 11811
Tags: robertfrench williamlawrence lawrencecollection lawrencephotographicstudio thelawrencephotographcollection glassnegative nationallibraryofireland highstreet portadown coarmagh



Town or village with church tower visible in the distance... is Enniskerry, Co Wicklow
Description: A rare visit to the Clonbrock collection with a beautiful sylvan scene of a town or village and in the background a spire and a pointy (Technical term) mountain. The fencing along the paddock makes me wonder if this is in Ireland... And (despite our thoughts on the somewhat "un-Irish" looking fencing), it was established fairly quickly by derangedlemur, sharon.corbet and B-59 that this Ireland. And the hills of County Wicklow specifically. The clock tower in the square of Enniskerry village has been highlighted by Dún Laoghaire Micheál, and the church spire of St Patrick's church also stands out. As the village has not changed much, and largely owes it's layout to developments in the first-half of the 19th century, we haven't been able to refine the date range significantly. (At least, not yet......) Photographers: Dillon Family Contributors: Luke Gerald Dillon, Augusta Caroline Dillon Collection: Clonbrock photographic Collection Date: 1860-1930 NLI Ref: CLON1886 You can also view this image, and many thousands of others, on the NLI’s catalogue at catalogue.nli.ie
Owner: National Library of Ireland on The Commons
Views: 12005
Tags: theclonbrockphotographiccollection lukegeralddillon baronclonbrock augustacarolinedillon baronessclonbrock dillonfamily nationallibraryofireland village town spire



Elementary School – Yavneh – Kovno-Slobodka
Description: Founded in Vilna in 1902, Mizrahi was an Orthodox Zionist movement whose slogan was “The Land of Israel for the People of Israel according to the Torah of Israel” – contrary to many Zionist movements’ secular focus, Mizrahi rooted its ideology in religious interpretation. In its early years Mizrahi experienced significant growth with more than two hundred branches of the organization springing up across regions of Eastern Europe – representing some 11,000 members. The size and influence of Mizrahi ebbed and flowed throughout the early 1900s as the organization struggled with political repression and as it competed with other Zionist organizations for influence. While the youth movement affiliated with the organization – Tse’ire Mizrahi – was active in promoting immigration to Palestine, the larger organization’s activities were focused around Judaic and Hebrew education as well as holding prayer services. Mizrahi was active in setting up educational institutions across many regions in Eastern Europe, these schools were known as the “Yavneh” school network. Home to a vibrant – as well as religiously and politically diverse – Jewish community, Kovno had a variety of different schools run by a range of different organizations; and as this book stamp makes clear this included an elementary school from the Yavneh network located in Slobodka, a community on the Eastern side of the Neris River. Slobodka was the main site of the Kovno ghetto. This book stamp is from a book looted by the Nazis and sorted by Colonel Seymour Pomrenze, one of “the Monuments Men,” at the Offenbach Archival Depot. There are two scrapbooks of archival markings from the books sorted at the Offenbach Depot in the Seymour Pomrenze Collection held by the American Jewish Historical Society (Call number P-933) There is a finding aid for the collection here The digitized scrapbooks are available here and here. For more information on this project check the Center’s blog: 16thstreet.tumblr.com/tagged/Offenbach-Depot Dr. Mitch Fraas, Acting Director of the Digital Humanities Forum at the University of Pennsylvania Libraries' Special Collections Center is working on a similar project for the German book stamps based on NARA microfilm of the volumes the American Jewish Historical Society currently holds. See viewshare.org/views/mfraas/offenbach-bookplates/ The Center for Jewish History would like to acknowledge the following: The American Jewish Historical Society, who graciously allowed the use of their archival materials and digital content; Mitch Fraas, Acting Director of the Digital Humanities Forum at the University of Pennsylvania Libraries' Special Collections Center, for his data and technical assistance in this project; David Rosenberg, Reference Services Research Coordinator, and Melanie Meyers, Senior Reference Services Librarian for Special Collections, for managing and creating the digital map; and Reference Services Librarian Ilya Slavutskiy for his work on translating and mapping. For copyright information, click here
Owner: Center for Jewish History, NYC
Views: 2104
Tags: hardwareepsonexpression100 softwareepsonscanv220aan



Waiting for the coming?
Description: While the image is entitled "Examination Hall, Mount Melleray", what is really interesting is the stance of the monks and other men along the avenue. They seem to be waiting on an arrival - but of what or whom?? Based on input from RorySherlock and Niall McAuley, we are happy to map this to the location of the (now demolished) exam hall of the Mount Melleray abbey and seminary. Niall McAuley and sharon.corbet also help us refine the date range - narrowing the 5 decade catalogue range to perhaps 2 decades or so around the 1870s/80s. On the subject, we're still unsure as to what's happening. However, as today's commentators point-out, there is more than a few similar examples in the collection. Perhaps indicating that this seemingly odd arrangement of subjects wasn't a "one off". And maybe therefore what's captured here is a routine monastic observance of some kind..... Photographer: Robert French Collection: Lawrence Photograph Collection Date: Catalogue range c.1865-1914. Though likely in the first half of this range (perhaps 1870s/1880s). See comments. NLI Ref: L_CAB_01439 You can also view this image, and many thousands of others, on the NLI’s catalogue at catalogue.nli.ie
Owner: National Library of Ireland on The Commons
Views: 11931
Tags: robertfrench williamlawrence lawrencecollection lawrencephotographicstudio thelawrencephotographcollection glassnegative nationallibraryofireland mountmelleray cowaterford ireland



Town Hall, Kingstown
Description: An unusual shot from Robert French in that the POV of the subject matter is so limited and obstructed by other buildings. How much has changed in the intervening period and when was this likely to have been taken? Though the titular subject of the image is the town hall in Kingstown, now Dún Laoghaire. much of today's discussion was on the Pavilion Gardens Kingstown in the foreground. This waterfront attraction (with its concert hall, roof top garden, smoking/reading/tea rooms, flower beds, waterfall, bandstand, and bowling green) was opened in 1903. Which pushes the upper date in our catalogue range back a little. It seems likely, based on today's discussion, that this image was captured a few years after the official opening - perhaps c.1905.... Photographer: Robert French Collection: Lawrence Photograph Collection Date: Catalogue range c.1880-1900. Though possibly c.1905 NLI Ref: L_ROY_01700 You can also view this image, and many thousands of others, on the NLI’s catalogue at catalogue.nli.ie
Owner: National Library of Ireland on The Commons
Views: 11866
Tags: robertfrench williamlawrence lawrencecollection lawrencephotographicstudio thelawrencephotographcollection glassnegative nationallibraryofireland townhall kingstowndunlaoghaire paviliontheatre



ca_20161121_000
Description: Copil între statui, Parcul Ialomița, Slobozia. 24 iunie 1972 Fotograf C. Acsinte Slobozia Din arhiva personală Carmen Botoșaru
Owner: Costică Acsinte Archive
Views: 5062
Tags: costicăacsintearchive 20161121 costicăacsinte oamenișipozelelor carmenbotoșaru paperprint ialomita românia rou



Dáil Chamber silent and empty
Description: Until the advent of television, sights such as this were relatively rare, the inside of the national parliament was considered almost sacrosanct. Now the activity there is streamed live, relevant clips appear daily on the news channels and people are familiar with the appearance and décor. As [https://www.flickr.com/photos/gnmcauley] notes, the main parliament chamber at Leinster House was originally a lecture theatre leased from the Royal Dublin Society. It was bought outright for Dáil use, and redesigned in the mid-1920s (likely putting this image after that date)... Photographer: Unknown Collection: Eason Photographic Collection Date: Catalogue range c.1900-1939. Likely after mid-1920s NLI Ref: EAS_1755 You can also view this image, and many thousands of others, on the NLI’s catalogue at catalogue.nli.ie
Owner: National Library of Ireland on The Commons
Views: 12367
Tags: eason easonson easoncollection easonphotographiccollection glassnegative 20thcentury nationallibraryofireland dáiléireann dáilchamber leinsterhouse



Swiss Cottage?
Description: A funny looking house all cobbled together making what somebody thought was a Swiss Cottage? This fine, carefully posed photograph from Mr. Poole has a family showing off their finery and their toys! Their dress would indicate that the shot was taken earlier in the date range rather than later? Where is/was it and who were the lucky family? As usual, the answers weren't long coming. The "where" was confirmed as Swiss Cottage, Newtown Road, Waterford, and the "who" as the Fanning family. The "when" is less certain, but - despite the catalogue range - possibly a few years earlier than the 1901 census.... Photographer: A. H. Poole Collection: Poole Photographic Studio, Waterford Date: Catalogue range c.1901-1954. But likely around or before 1901. NLI Ref: POOLEWP 0118 You can also view this image, and many thousands of others, on the NLI’s catalogue at catalogue.nli.ie
Owner: National Library of Ireland on The Commons
Views: 12937
Tags: ahpoole arthurhenripoole glassnegative nationallibraryofireland swisscottage family posed edwardianvictoriandress sailingboat garden



Mick McQuaid's Cabin, Connemara, Co. Galway
Description: Two poems immediately spring to mind when I look at this image but neither of them refers to Connemara. This beautiful scene may have cheered "Mick McQuaid" on a daily basis or perhaps due to the harshness of life in such a remote and poor area he did not even see it? I hope that he was able to sit with his pipe, smoking "Mick McQuaid" tobacco, contemplating the scene with a sense of peace and appreciation? And so we have learned from beachcomberaustralia and B-59 that the "Mick McQuaid" in question was fictional. Making this scene, as Niall McAuley suggests, something of a 19th century equivalent to the (nearby) "Quiet Man cottage". Mick McQuaid was a character developed by Captain William Lynam for a popular weekly serial - that was carried by newspapers for some decades from the 1860s. Seemingly, as per the summary which beachcomberaustralia shares in the comments, those who could not read would travel some distance to hear the latest installment. And such was the popularity of the character that, as well as inspiring tobacco branding, when Lynam died in 1894, the paper continued the serial - reaching new generations.... Photographer: Robert French Collection: Lawrence Photograph Collection Date: Catalogue range c.1865-1914. Though possibly after 1895. NLI Ref: L_ROY_06806 You can also view this image, and many thousands of others, on the NLI’s catalogue at catalogue.nli.ie
Owner: National Library of Ireland on The Commons
Views: 12326
Tags: robertfrench williamlawrence lawrencecollection lawrencephotographicstudio thelawrencephotographcollection glassnegative nationallibraryofireland lake isle trees



Close-up of doorway of large, cruciform, modern romanesque church (is Sligo Cathedral)
Description: A double image of a double door in a church somewhere in Ireland. Given the extreme age of the stereo pairs collection some of the images, such as this one, are remarkably clear and 'new' looking! Early collaboration from [https://www.flickr.com/photos/[email protected]] and [https://www.flickr.com/photos/beachcomberaustralia] identified this as Sligo Cathedral. As the cathedral opened in 1874, it seems likely this image dates to the mid- or late-1870s at the earliest. As well as helping identify the subjects of the "high relief" work in the tympanum today's other eagle-eyed contributors point out that this image is actually mirrored from reality.... Photographers: Frederick Holland Mares, James Simonton Contributor: John Fortune Lawrence Collection: Stereo Pairs Photograph Collection Date: Catalogue range c.1860-1883. Though definitely after 1874. NLI Ref: STP_2407 You can also view this image, and many thousands of others, on the NLI’s catalogue at catalogue.nli.ie
Owner: National Library of Ireland on The Commons
Views: 11965
Tags: thestereopairsphotographcollection lawrencecollection stereographicnegatives jamessimonton frederickhollandmares johnfortunelawrence williammervynlawrence nationallibraryofireland romanesquedoubledoor church



ca_20161108_021-VDB
Description: Colecția Costică Acsinte
Owner: Costică Acsinte Archive
Views: 2807
Tags: costicăacsintearchive costicăacsinte 20161108 vandykebrown altprint altprinting



Spa Baths, Lisdoonvarna, Co. Clare
Description: Happy smelly Monday as todays shot takes us to the beauty of West Clare, and the town of Lisdoonvarna - with its occasional reek of sulphur from the waters. This beautiful shot from the lens of Mr. French shows the bath houses in pristine condition, with many people there relaxing and enjoying themselves. (And congratulations to the Ireland team for their first ever victory against the mighty New Zealand All Blacks. Magnificent!) Lots of brilliant insights on this image in the comments. Including a reminder that we've followed the Victorian fashion and "taken the waters" at Lisdoonvarna's other wells before today. This Lawrence Collection image captures just how popular a tourist activity it was - with dozens of seemingly middle-class visitors at their leisure. Presumably rented towels are drying outside the bath house, and musical entertainment is evident outside the pump house - confirming that the crowds came to Lisdoonvarna long before the music and matchmaking festivals.... Photographer: Robert French Collection: Lawrence Photograph Collection Date: Catalogue range c.1865-1914. Though likely after c.1890 based on the date of the main pump-house building. NLI Ref: L_ROY_08778 You can also view this image, and many thousands of others, on the NLI’s catalogue at catalogue.nli.ie
Owner: National Library of Ireland on The Commons
Views: 13315
Tags: robertfrench williamlawrence lawrencecollection lawrencephotographicstudio thelawrencephotographcollection glassnegative nationallibraryofireland spabaths lisdoonvarna westclare



Armenians in China003
Description:
Owner: Armenian Studies Program, Fresno State
Views: 892
Tags: china krikorkassiants armenian



Mitchelstown Castle, Co. Cork
Description: To begin the week one day late here is a magnificent building in Mitchelstown, Co. Cork. (As regards our last image, the dog's name was "Stop" - because every time he tried to run and play, his owner shouted "Stop!!") On today's (dog free) image, sharon.corbet highlighted that it should be added to our "No Longer Standing" album. It now has been - because this 19th century castle was burned down during the Irish Civil War. Myrtle26, DannyM8, beachcomber, and guliolopez help establish some extra context for events in and around the castle prior to its destruction. And O Mac confirms that the castle's very stones were reused in the building of the abbey at Mount Mellary.... Photographer: Robert French Collection: Lawrence Photograph Collection Date: between ca. 1865-1914 NLI Ref: L_ROY_01072 You can also view this image, and many thousands of others, on the NLI’s catalogue at catalogue.nli.ie
Owner: National Library of Ireland on The Commons
Views: 11790
Tags: robertfrench williamlawrence lawrencecollection lawrencephotographicstudio thelawrencephotographcollection glassnegative nationallibraryofireland mitchelstowncastle mitchelstown northcork



Wagging tail and wagging tongues at the post office (Portrush, Co Antrim)
Description: This lovely shot by Robert French shows the Post Office in Portrush with a seemingly posed group - complete with a DOG! Anybody who can come up with the name of the dog will be guaranteed an Irish virtual sticky bun - not as exotic as the Australian version but very tasty nonetheless. With thanks to the usually insightful contributions, it seems that we can narrow the 50-year catalogue range to perhaps a decade or two in the late 19th century (certainly the fashions point more to 1870s/1880s than the early 20th century). Niall McAuley and O Mac have also helped us map this image to the site of the "old" post office on Main Street Portrush. (The "new(er)" post office was built c.1908 and is now a library...) Photographer: Robert French Collection: Lawrence Photograph Collection Date: c.1865-1914 (though likely c.1870s/1880s) NLI Ref: L_CAB_03710 You can also view this image, and many thousands of others, on the NLI’s catalogue at catalogue.nli.ie
Owner: National Library of Ireland on The Commons
Views: 12918
Tags: robertfrench williamlawrence lawrencecollection lawrencephotographicstudio thelawrencephotographcollection glassnegative nationallibraryofireland postoffice portrush dog



Spire of Lloyd, Kells, Co. Meath
Description: Another contribution from the Eason Collection to end off the week. I have seen this spire / tower many times while driving but I have never had the opportunity to visit it. Is it a pure folly or was it intended for some more practical use? With thanks in particular to contributions from B-59 and beachcomber we have learned that the tower doesn't have a specific practical use - other than perhaps as a viewing tower. Though built to resemble a lighthouse (and seemingly the "only inland lighthouse in Ireland"), the dedication inscription on the tower suggests that it was intended as a family memorial when commissioned by the then Marquess Headfort/Earl Bective. The NIAH entry tells us that it was designed and completed by architect Henry Aaron Baker c.1791..... Photographer: Unknown Collection: Eason Photographic Collection Date: between ca. 1900-1939 NLI Ref: EAS_3214 You can also view this image, and many thousands of others, on the NLI’s catalogue at catalogue.nli.ie
Owner: National Library of Ireland on The Commons
Views: 9839
Tags: eason easonson easoncollection easonphotographiccollection glassnegative nationallibraryofireland ireland meath leinster spireoflloyd



Description: This is labelled as the "Durrow Viaduct, Stradbally, Co.Laois", and a very fine shot it is. One wonders if it is now disused or perhaps abandoned for some years? It may surprise that this is from the Eason Collection! With thanks to today's contributors (including B-59 and Rory_Sherlock) there is a consensus suggestion that our catalogue label is incorrect, and that perhaps this is actually Ballyvoyle Viaduct in County Waterford. The smaller arch (and cottage) on the lefthand-side does seem a good fit with this Waterford Museum image from c.1900. If it is the Ballyvoyle Viaduct, we (now) know that it was blown-up during the Civil War in August 1922, and replaced with a new structure in 1923. According to this synopsis from the Waterford & Suir Valley Railway website the line didn't reopen fully until 1924.... Photographer: Unknown Collection: Eason Photographic Collection Date: between ca. 1900-1939 (likely before 1922) NLI Ref: EAS_2756 You can also view this image, and many thousands of others, on the NLI’s catalogue at catalogue.nli.ie
Owner: National Library of Ireland on The Commons
Views: 12526
Tags: eason easonson easoncollection easonphotographiccollection glassnegative 20thcentury nationallibraryofireland ireland ballyvoyle viaduct



Grotesque and Ghastly Gothic or Soaring Spiky Spires?
Description: This stereo pairs image of a church with lots and lots of spiked abutments and spires on a Y shaped avenue was selected to finish the week. For me its appearance is both unwelcoming and forbidding - having a dark and austere aspect. The location and subject was very quickly identified by sharon.corbet as Down Cathedral. The cathedral is formally known as the "Cathedral Church of the Holy and Undivided Trinity". As [https://www.flickr.com/photos/gnmcauley] explains, and per the Wikipedia article, at least some of the structure dates to the 13th and 14th centuries, with the "gothic revival" flourishes added in the late 18th and early 19th centuries.... Photographers: Frederick Holland Mares, James Simonton Contributor: John Fortune Lawrence Collection: Stereo Pairs Photograph Collection Date: between ca. 1860-1883 NLI Ref: STP_1940 You can also view this image, and many thousands of others, on the NLI’s catalogue at catalogue.nli.ie
Owner: National Library of Ireland on The Commons
Views: 10684
Tags: thestereopairsphotographcollection lawrencecollection stereographicnegatives jamessimonton frederickhollandmares johnfortunelawrence williammervynlawrence nationallibraryofireland church yjunction



The Lodge, Spa, Ballynahinch : commissioned by Terence G.Johnson, Esq
Description: To start the week is an unusual image from the Poole Collection. Labelled as "The Lodge, Spa, Ballynahinch, Co. Down : commissioned by Terence G.Johnson, Esq", this is unusual in that it is far from his normal range around south Munster and Leinster. This one is labelled as north of the border, apparently in the 1930s when the two parts of the island were going their separate ways.... ....When today's contributors couldn't seemingly find evidence of this house in Spa, County Down, sharon.corbet was (somehow through skill/graft/ESP or a mixture of all) able to confirm why: this isn't County Down at all. Rather, Sharon has confirmed that Poole didn't get this commission from more than 200 miles away in County Down, but from under 30 miles away: in Spa, County Tipperary. Closer to the usual Poole catchment area, and making way more sense, Sharon suggests that the Spa and Ballynahinch area of County Down was mistaken for "Raheen House, Spa, Ballynahinch, Co Tipperary" - where the family of Terence G(reer) Johnston lived... Photographer: A. H. Poole Collection: Poole Photographic Studio, Waterford Date: c.30 October 1930 NLI Ref: POOLEWP 3768 You can also view this image, and many thousands of others, on the NLI’s catalogue at catalogue.nli.ie
Owner: National Library of Ireland on The Commons
Views: 10732
Tags: ahpoole arthurhenripoole glassnegative nationallibraryofireland thelodgespa ballynahinch house garden possiblecataloguecorrection spa



PACC-Band-1912-700x561
Description:
Owner: Armenian Studies Program, Fresno State
Views: 228
Tags: fresno pilgrim orchestra armenianpilgrimorchestra pilgrimarmeniancongregationalchurch



An
Description: The description on this image states that this is an "Outside Car" and goes on at length to describe the gates and pillars! But are they still there? Where are/were they? They certainly are very ornate and ostentatious. With thanks especially today to derangedlemur, we know that these imposing gates and gatelodge are at the start of the driveway to Muckross House in Killarney, County Kerry. The ironwork (attributed to Richard Perrott of Cork) and pillars and gatelodge (seemingly attributed to William Atkins also of Cork) date to 1860. They were probably built before the arrival of Queen Victoria at Muckross in 1861. And, as [https://www.flickr.com/photos/[email protected]] suggests in his own enigmatic way, likely intended to impress her madge. The community points-out that you can get an "Outside car" from the same spot today - just outside the gates. Photographers: Frederick Holland Mares, James Simonton Contributor: John Fortune Lawrence Collection: Stereo Pairs Photograph Collection Date: Between 1860 - 1883 NLI Ref: STP_0637 You can also view this image, and many thousands of others, on the NLI’s catalogue at catalogue.nli.ie
Owner: National Library of Ireland on The Commons
Views: 11135
Tags: thestereopairsphotographcollection lawrencecollection stereographicnegatives jamessimonton frederickhollandmares johnfortunelawrence williammervynlawrence nationallibraryofireland ornategatesandpillars wroughtiron



Village of Leenane, County Galway
Description: This picture of an idyllic scene, a tiny village from across a body of water with hills in the background, gives a romantic view of Ireland at the turn of the 20th century. It puts a gloss over the hardship and poverty of rural Ireland at that time. With that cheerful note, we can look forward to the end of September and the start of October at the weekend! With subject and location already established here, some of today's investigations focused on dates. The general consensus is that (based on the family businesses pictured) the image may have been taken close to the 1901 or 1911 censuses. Perhaps even c.1906/1907 when we know the French/Lawrence were in the area seemingly overlapping with a visiting tourist bus. Whether or not we can refine it to the turn of the century, it seems likely to have been taken in the later decades of the 50-year catalogue range... Photographer: Robert French Collection: Lawrence Photograph Collection Date: c.1865-1914 (though possibly c.1900 per notes) NLI Ref: L_CAB_00346 You can also view this image, and many thousands of others, on the NLI’s catalogue at catalogue.nli.ie
Owner: National Library of Ireland on The Commons
Views: 19734
Tags: robertfrench williamlawrence lawrencecollection lawrencephotographicstudio thelawrencephotographcollection glassnegative nationallibraryofireland leenane connemara village



All eyes on the charabanc!
Description: For Friday we have a stereo-pairs image of a seafront with houses above a shingle beach, boats pulled up to the hard stand and a most peculiar charabanc with a large group of people on board! While there are people standing around none pay attention to the photographer as all eyes are on the horse drawn transport! What is surrounded by iron railings so close to the sea? This image was quickly identified as the waterfront (Havelock Place) in Warrenpoint, County Down. While there was no immediate confirmation on what the gated area may have been on the pier-front, we thought it could have simply been fencing around a building which is just out of shot.... .... And indeed [https://www.flickr.com/photos/[email protected]] confirmed since that it was the frontage of "Harbour House" which seems to have stood until at least the first decades of the 20th century. Photographers: Frederick Holland Mares, James Simonton Contributor: John Fortune Lawrence Collection: Stereo Pairs Collection Date: between ca. 1860-1883 NLI Ref: STP_2140 You can also view this image, and many thousands of others, on the NLI’s catalogue at catalogue.nli.ie
Owner: National Library of Ireland on The Commons
Views: 10786
Tags: thestereopairsphotographcollection lawrencecollection stereographicnegatives jamessimonton frederickhollandmares johnfortunelawrence williammervynlawrence nationallibraryofireland terrace houses



Irish Jaunting car
Description: The once ubiquitous Irish Jaunting car, or as it was also called, the "side car". Up to the 1950s they were the taxi of choice in most places. Often with little comfort, as one hung-on precariously sideways to the direction of travel. It was a great way of seeing what was on your side of the car but not what was on the opposite side. This fine Lawrence shot shows the Phoenix Monument (which was moved some decades after this shot but is now back where it belongs).... Photographer: Robert French Collection: Lawrence Photograph Collection Date:between c.1865-1914 (though likely before 1903 given lamps visible) NLI Ref: L_CAB_07638 You can also view this image, and many thousands of others, on the NLI’s catalogue at catalogue.nli.ie
Owner: National Library of Ireland on The Commons
Views: 13116
Tags: robertfrench williamlawrence lawrencecollection lawrencephotographicstudio thelawrencephotographcollection glassnegative nationallibraryofireland irishjauntingcar sidecar sidewayson



Mountain Stage, Glenbeigh, Co. Kerry
Description: One of those amazing Lawrence images of poverty, destitution and sheer misery that makes one cringe. Cringe for the people who had to live in such terrible conditions. Some of the worst we had seen were in Donegal but this is in the Kingdom of Kerry, and shows that hard times affected people all over the country. With input from today's contributors we have broadly mapped this image to near Drom in County Kerry. The consensus is that this French image was likely captured in the 1880s. Possibly even c.1887 when, as beachcomber points-out, there were some particularly notorious evictions of families from the Wynn Estate.... Photographer: Robert French Collection: Lawrence Photograph Collection Date: Catalogue range c.1860 - 1914. Though certainly before 1900. And likely c.1880s. NLI Ref: L_CAB_08441 You can also view this image, and many thousands of others, on the NLI’s catalogue at catalogue.nli.ie
Owner: National Library of Ireland on The Commons
Views: 23936
Tags: robertfrench williamlawrence lawrencecollection lawrencephotographicstudio thelawrencephotographcollection glassnegative nationallibraryofireland cabin stone sods



Auto race, Leopoldville, 1958
Description: Paul Frère in zijn Ferrari tijdens de race van 7 september 1958. (Foto H. Goldstein) Beelden uit de tentoonstelling Archief Sportief!, in het Liberaal Archief van 16 september 2016 t/m 13 januari 2017. Meer informatie: www.liberaalarchief.be Images from the exhibition Archief Sportief! in the Liberaal Archief in Ghent, September 16, 2016 through January 13, 2017
Owner: Liberaal Archief - Liberas
Views: 1549
Tags: gent ghent vlaanderen “liberaalarchiefvzw” tentoonstelling “archiefsportief” exhibition sport turnen “kramersplein23”



Balpijp schieten, 1883
Description: Beelden uit de tentoonstelling Archief Sportief!, in het Liberaal Archief van 16 september 2016 t/m 13 januari 2017. Meer informatie: www.liberaalarchief.be Images from the exhibition Archief Sportief! in the Liberaal Archief in Ghent, September 16, 2016 through January 13, 2017
Owner: Liberaal Archief - Liberas
Views: 1254
Tags: gent ghent vlaanderen “liberaalarchiefvzw” tentoonstelling “archiefsportief” exhibition sport turnen “kramersplein23”



Voetbal, 1936
Description: Beelden uit de tentoonstelling Archief Sportief!, in het Liberaal Archief van 16 september 2016 t/m 13 januari 2017. Meer informatie: www.liberaalarchief.be Images from the exhibition Archief Sportief! in the Liberaal Archief in Ghent, September 16, 2016 through January 13, 2017
Owner: Liberaal Archief - Liberas
Views: 1314
Tags: gent ghent vlaanderen “liberaalarchiefvzw” tentoonstelling “archiefsportief” exhibition sport turnen “kramersplein23”



Voetbal team Liberale Kring van Rabot en Brugsepoort, Gent, 1924
Description: Beelden uit de tentoonstelling Archief Sportief!, in het Liberaal Archief van 16 september 2016 t/m 13 januari 2017. Meer informatie: www.liberaalarchief.be Images from the exhibition Archief Sportief! in the Liberaal Archief in Ghent, September 16, 2016 through January 13, 2017
Owner: Liberaal Archief - Liberas
Views: 1373
Tags: gent ghent vlaanderen “liberaalarchiefvzw” tentoonstelling “archiefsportief” exhibition sport turnen “kramersplein23”



Maleva embleem, Pürksi 1986 / Secondary School Students' Building Brigade emblem, Pürksi 1986
Description: Viitekood / Reference code: ERAF.9590.1.1079
Owner: National Archives of Estonia
Views: 1259
Tags: emblem ants 1986 pürksi noarootsi läänemaa malev eõm buildingbrigades nationalarchivesofestonia



Maleva embleem, Laupa 1976/ Secondary School Students' Building Brigade emblem, Laupa 1976
Description: Viitekood / Reference code: ERAF.9590.1.1079
Owner: National Archives of Estonia
Views: 1439
Tags: emblem laupa türi järvamaa malev eõm pear buildingbrigades nationalarchivesofestonia



Maleva embleem, Saduküla 1976 / Secondary School Students' Building Brigade emblem, Saduküla 1976
Description: Viitekood / Reference code: ERAF.9590.1.1079
Owner: National Archives of Estonia
Views: 1286
Tags: emblem saduküla jõgevamaa estonia malev eõm buildingbrigades nationalarchivesofestonia



Maleva embleem, Habaja 1976 / Secondary School Students' Building Brigade emblem, Habaja 1976
Description: Viitekood / Reference code: ERAF.9590.1.1079
Owner: National Archives of Estonia
Views: 1452
Tags: habaja kose harjumaa malev 1976 eõm buildingbrigades nationalarchivesofestonia emblem



Maleva vimpel / Secondary School Students' Building Brigade pennant
Description: "Ema! Läksin ikkagi malevasse, EÕM-i Viljandi piirkonda. Tulen sügisel!" / "Mother! I still went to the Secondary School Students' Building Brigade Viljandi region. I'll be back in autumn!" Viitekood / Reference code: ERAF.9590.1.1079
Owner: National Archives of Estonia
Views: 1427
Tags: pennant malev eõm buildingbrigades viljandi estonia nationalarchivesofestonia



On the bridge below the mountain!
Description: While this scene is idyllic, the water looks perfect for fishing and that mountain in the background looks ideal for walking, it is the timing that makes this for me. Either Mr. French timed it perfectly to catch the mail coach just as it crossed the bridge or he persuaded the driver to stop long enough for him to get into position. Either way this is an instant favourite for me! Kudos today for the speed with which [https://www.flickr.com/photos/[email protected]] identified and helped us map this to Brickeen Bridge in the Muckross Demesne in County Kerry.... Photographer: Robert French Collection: Lawrence Photograph Collection Date: between c.1865-1914 NLI Ref: L_ROY_02721 You can also view this image, and many thousands of others, on the NLI’s catalogue at catalogue.nli.ie
Owner: National Library of Ireland on The Commons
Views: 9962
Tags: robertfrench williamlawrence lawrencecollection lawrencephotographicstudio thelawrencephotographcollection glassnegative nationallibraryofireland bridge lake mountain



Athboy, Co. Meath
Description: We begin the week with a scene from the town of Athboy in the north of Royal Meath. Here it is dominated by its COI church tower, with the other end of the town marked by a castle built by Hugh deLacy. A market is in full swing - waking the town from its slumbers! Photographer: Robert French Collection: Lawrence Photograph Collection Date: between ca. 1865-1914 (though likely after c.1890) NLI Ref: L_CAB_08693 You can also view this image, and many thousands of others, on the NLI’s catalogue at catalogue.nli.ie
Owner: National Library of Ireland on The Commons
Views: 12244
Tags: robertfrench williamlawrence lawrencecollection lawrencephotographicstudio thelawrencephotographcollection glassnegative nationallibraryofireland athboy ireland marketday



Pioneering Scouts Youth Organization Hashomer Hatzair in Lithuania
Description: Founded in 1913, as a merger between Tse’ire Agudat Tsiyon and Ha-Shomer, the organization Hashomer Hatzair was a Zionist-socialist youth movement that trained young people to immigrate to kibbutz in Palestine. The organization was founded in Galicia but expanded throughout Europe in the 1920s – by the late 1920s the organization had over ten thousand members, a number which had more than doubled by the start of WWII. The mixture of Zionism and socialism at the core of Hashomer Hatzair and its focus upon encouraging immigration set the organization apart from other youth organizations of the time that were either less expressly political or less focused (or hostile to) the cause of Zionism – while members of the organization who had already immigrated pushed the organization further and further to the left. With the onset of WWII many members of the organization attempted to get to Palestine, while others fled from the Nazis, even as others fell victim to their onslaught. Many members of Hashomer Hatzair became prominent leaders in the anti-Nazi resistant movements such as Haykah Grossman, Mordekhai Anielewicz, and Abba Kovner. This bookstamp belonged to a branch of Hashomer Hatzair active in Kovno – attesting to the fact that many of the branches of the organization had libraries. Hashomer Hatzair is still an active organization today. This book stamp is from a book looted by the Nazis and sorted by Colonel Seymour Pomrenze, one of “the Monuments Men,” at the Offenbach Archival Depot. There are two scrapbooks of archival markings from the books sorted at the Offenbach Depot in the Seymour Pomrenze Collection held by the American Jewish Historical Society (Call number P-933) There is a finding aid for the collection here The digitized scrapbooks are available here and here. For more information on this project check the Center’s blog: 16thstreet.tumblr.com/tagged/Offenbach-Depot Dr. Mitch Fraas, Acting Director of the Digital Humanities Forum at the University of Pennsylvania Libraries' Special Collections Center is working on a similar project for the German book stamps based on NARA microfilm of the volumes the American Jewish Historical Society currently holds. See viewshare.org/views/mfraas/offenbach-bookplates/ The Center for Jewish History would like to acknowledge the following: The American Jewish Historical Society, who graciously allowed the use of their archival materials and digital content; Mitch Fraas, Acting Director of the Digital Humanities Forum at the University of Pennsylvania Libraries' Special Collections Center, for his data and technical assistance in this project; David Rosenberg, Senior Manager for Communications, and Melanie Meyers, Senior Reference Services Librarian for Special Collections, for managing and creating the digital map; as well as Reference Services Librarians Zachary Loeb and Ilya Slavutskiy for their work on translating and mapping. For copyright information, click here
Owner: Center for Jewish History, NYC
Views: 1464
Tags: hardwareepsonexpression100 softwareepsonscanv220aan



South Dalton Church under construction 1860 (archive ref PE54-11-2)
Description: (Buy exclusive historic East Yorkshire prints from East Riding Photos http://picturearchivesorg/eastridingphotos) This photograph shows the construction underway of the landmark South Dalton Church in East Yorkshire, with the old church building still very much in view in the foreground prior to its demolition. (Why not try searching our East Riding of Yorkshire Map for more historic images? www.flickr.com/photos/erarchives/map ) (Copyright) We're happy for you to share this digital image within the spirit of Creative Commons. Please cite 'East Riding Archives ' when reusing. Certain restrictions on high quality reproductions and commercial use of the original physical version apply. If unsure please email [email protected]
Owner: East Riding Archives
Views: 2145
Tags: black white vintage old photographs historic east riding yorkshire photograph



New Walk, Beverley, from the south 1872 (archive ref PH-4-5 b)
Description: (Buy exclusive historic East Yorkshire prints from East Riding Photos http://picturearchivesorg/eastridingphotos) Other than the cobbles and slightly scruffy verges of this street, the scene remains virtually unchanged in over 140 years. (Why not try searching our East Riding of Yorkshire Map for more historic images? www.flickr.com/photos/erarchives/map ) (Copyright) We're happy for you to share this digital image within the spirit of Creative Commons. Please cite 'East Riding Archives ' when reusing. Certain restrictions on high quality reproductions and commercial use of the original physical version apply. If unsure please email [email protected]
Owner: East Riding Archives
Views: 2039
Tags: black white vintage old photographs historic east riding yorkshire photograph



Alfred Wilson of Goole 1872 (archive ref DDX1803-1)
Description: (Buy exclusive historic East Yorkshire prints from East Riding Photos http://picturearchivesorg/eastridingphotos) Alfred Wilson in policeman's uniform from the mid-Victorian period. (Why not try searching our East Riding of Yorkshire Map for more historic images? www.flickr.com/photos/erarchives/map ) (Copyright) We're happy for you to share this digital image within the spirit of Creative Commons. Please cite 'East Riding Archives ' when reusing. Certain restrictions on high quality reproductions and commercial use of the original physical version apply. If unsure please email [email protected]
Owner: East Riding Archives
Views: 2126
Tags: black white vintage old photographs historic east riding yorkshire photograph



Construction of South Dalton Church 1860 (archive ref PE54-11-1)
Description: (Buy exclusive historic East Yorkshire prints from East Riding Photos http://picturearchivesorg/eastridingphotos) The church at South Dalton, East Yorkshire, is synonymous with the Yorkshire Wolds landscape, which makes this image all the more striking as it shows the landmark spire in a state of half completion. (Why not try searching our East Riding of Yorkshire Map for more historic images? www.flickr.com/photos/erarchives/map ) (Copyright) We're happy for you to share this digital image within the spirit of Creative Commons. Please cite 'East Riding Archives ' when reusing. Certain restrictions on high quality reproductions and commercial use of the original physical version apply. If unsure please email [email protected]
Owner: East Riding Archives
Views: 2219
Tags: black white vintage old photographs historic east riding yorkshire photograph



Howden Market Place 1871 (archive ref DDEY-1-193)
Description: (Buy exclusive historic East Yorkshire prints from East Riding Photos http://picturearchivesorg/eastridingphotos) An early scene of the Market Place at Howden, East Yorkshire in 1871. (Why not try searching our East Riding of Yorkshire Map for more historic images? www.flickr.com/photos/erarchives/map ) (Copyright) We're happy for you to share this digital image within the spirit of Creative Commons. Please cite 'East Riding Archives ' when reusing. Certain restrictions on high quality reproductions and commercial use of the original physical version apply. If unsure please email [email protected]
Owner: East Riding Archives
Views: 2247
Tags: black white vintage old photographs historic east riding yorkshire photograph



Outside the Ferguson Fawsitt Arms pub, Walkington 1875  (archive ref PC43-68)
Description: (Buy exclusive historic East Yorkshire prints from East Riding Photos http://picturearchivesorg/eastridingphotos) Perched on the donkey to the right of this image is Phillip Deighton, accompanied by local residents Feg Ferguson, Waxy Oliver and John Walsh amongst others. (Why not try searching our East Riding of Yorkshire Map for more historic images? www.flickr.com/photos/erarchives/map ) (Copyright) We're happy for you to share this digital image within the spirit of Creative Commons. Please cite 'East Riding Archives ' when reusing. Certain restrictions on high quality reproductions and commercial use of the original physical version apply. If unsure please email [email protected]
Owner: East Riding Archives
Views: 2567
Tags: black white vintage old photographs historic east riding yorkshire photograph



Registry of Deeds, Register Square, Beverley 1870 (archive ref DDX328-17)
Description: (Buy exclusive historic East Yorkshire prints from East Riding Photos http://picturearchivesorg/eastridingphotos) The fascinating Register of Deeds, covering property transactions in East Yorkshire from 1708-1974, can now be searched at the East Riding Archives, but back in 1870 these remarkable volumes were housed in the building pictured here, situated close to the Guildhall. (Why not try searching our East Riding of Yorkshire Map for more historic images? www.flickr.com/photos/erarchives/map ) (Copyright) We're happy for you to share this digital image within the spirit of Creative Commons. Please cite 'East Riding Archives ' when reusing. Certain restrictions on high quality reproductions and commercial use of the original physical version apply. If unsure please email [email protected]
Owner: East Riding Archives
Views: 2378
Tags: black white vintage old photographs historic east riding yorkshire photograph



Opening of Driffield Waterworks 1880 (archive ref DDX2003-15-4)
Description: (Buy exclusive historic East Yorkshire prints from East Riding Photos http://picturearchivesorg/eastridingphotos) Today, the concept of a 'waterworks' seems a rather bland notion, but the opening ceremony for the waterworks at Driffield on the Yorkshire Wolds (pictured) heralded a step change for the infrastructure of this East Yorkshire town, and this is why it was celebrated with such fanfare back in 1880. (Why not try searching our East Riding of Yorkshire Map for more historic images? www.flickr.com/photos/erarchives/map ) (Copyright) We're happy for you to share this digital image within the spirit of Creative Commons. Please cite 'East Riding Archives ' when reusing. Certain restrictions on high quality reproductions and commercial use of the original physical version apply. If unsure please email [email protected]
Owner: East Riding Archives
Views: 2430
Tags: black white vintage old photographs historic east riding yorkshire photograph



The House of Correction, Beverley 1863 (archive ref DDX734-4)
Description: (Buy exclusive historic East Yorkshire prints from East Riding Photos http://picturearchivesorg/eastridingphotos) This photograph shows a group of prisoners and officials outside the House of Correction at Beverley, East Yorkshire. The Governor at the time was Alfred Shepherd, who may be the individual pictured in the centre of this image. By 1878 the House of Correction was handed over to the Home Office Prison Department and ceased to function. This photograph is thought be the only one in existence showing Beverley's House of Correction. (Why not try searching our East Riding of Yorkshire Map for more historic images? www.flickr.com/photos/erarchives/map ) (Copyright) We're happy for you to share this digital image within the spirit of Creative Commons. Please cite 'East Riding Archives ' when reusing. Certain restrictions on high quality reproductions and commercial use of the original physical version apply. If unsure please email [email protected]
Owner: East Riding Archives
Views: 3121
Tags: black white vintage old photographs historic east riding yorkshire photograph



'Tom Pudding train' on the canal at Goole 1882 (archive ref DDX882-19)
Description: (Buy exclusive historic East Yorkshire prints from East Riding Photos http://picturearchivesorg/eastridingphotos) The term 'Tom Pudding' was used to describe tub boats on the Aire and Calder Navigation. They were introduced in 1863 and remained in use until 1985. The tub boats carried coal from Stanley Ferry in South Yorkshire to the port of Goole in West Yorkshire (now part of the East Riding). Such was the popularity of the Tom Pudding train that it competed for some time with freight rail transportation. (Why not try searching our East Riding of Yorkshire Map for more historic images? www.flickr.com/photos/erarchives/map ) (Copyright) We're happy for you to share this digital image within the spirit of Creative Commons. Please cite 'East Riding Archives ' when reusing. Certain restrictions on high quality reproductions and commercial use of the original physical version apply. If unsure please email [email protected]
Owner: East Riding Archives
Views: 2087
Tags: black white vintage old photographs historic east riding yorkshire photograph



Industrial Schools, Letterfrack, Co. Galway
Description: Nestling under a twin of the Sugar Loaf Mountain is the Industrial School of Letterfrack. Set in the far wilds of Connemara it was known a feared place for its young occupants as much by reason of its dramatic location! Today's contributions (thankfully/unusually downbeat) highlighted how the pictured St Joseph's Industrial School, while initially set up with likely positive intentions, was so heavily referenced in the reports of the Commission to Inquire into Child Abuse that St Joseph of Letterfrack was labelled as "the cruel saint" by some. As per the comments below, based on the layout of the buildings pictured, it is expected that the 5 decade catalogue range (c.1860s-1910s) can be refined to perhaps a decade or so (c.1900-1910s).... Photographer: Robert French Collection: Lawrence Photograph Collection Date: Catalogue range of c.1865-1914. Likely c.1900-1910s. NLI Ref: L_ROY_05374 You can also view this image, and many thousands of others, on the NLI’s catalogue at catalogue.nli.ie
Owner: National Library of Ireland on The Commons
Views: 10523
Tags: robertfrench williamlawrence lawrencecollection lawrencephotographicstudio thelawrencephotographcollection glassnegative nationallibraryofireland letterfrack connemara countygalway



Frescati House, Blackrock
Description: Once one of the great houses of Dublin and today a shopping mall, the demolition of this building was viewed by quite a few as a "monumental act of vandalism". B-59 draws our attention to the Frescati House Wikipedia article which covers its history and association with the FitzGerald family and United Irishmen. Perhaps most interesting however (made relevant in recent times with events affecting other 18th century manor homes) are the sections of the Wikipedia article dealing with the 15 year fight to save Frescati from demolition. Ultimately unsuccessfully..... Photographer: Robert French Collection: Lawrence Photograph Collection Date: between 1880-1900 NLI Ref: L_ROY_05948 You can also view this image, and many thousands of others, on the NLI’s catalogue at catalogue.nli.ie
Owner: National Library of Ireland on The Commons
Views: 10268
Tags: robertfrench williamlawrence lawrencecollection lawrencephotographicstudio thelawrencephotographcollection glassnegative nationallibraryofireland frescatihouse blackrock marksspencer



Market Weighton Railway Station 1940 (archive ref DDX1525-1-14)
Description: (Buy exclusive historic East Yorkshire prints from East Riding Photos http://picturearchivesorg/eastridingphotos) Market Weighton Station was demolished in 1967 as part of the infamous railway cutbacks of Dr Beeching. This image shows it back in its heyday, before any talk of scrapping the direct Hull-York line. (Why not try searching our East Riding of Yorkshire Map for more historic images? www.flickr.com/photos/erarchives/map ) (Copyright) We're happy for you to share this digital image within the spirit of Creative Commons. Please cite 'East Riding Archives ' when reusing. Certain restrictions on high quality reproductions and commercial use of the original physical version apply. If unsure please email [email protected]
Owner: East Riding Archives
Views: 1958
Tags: station east yorkshire old photographs photos black white bw historic



South Cave Railway Station 1938 (archive ref DDEY-1-184)
Description: (Buy exclusive historic East Yorkshire prints from East Riding Photos http://picturearchivesorg/eastridingphotos) (Why not try searching our East Riding of Yorkshire Map for more historic images? www.flickr.com/photos/erarchives/map ) (Copyright) We're happy for you to share this digital image within the spirit of Creative Commons. Please cite 'East Riding Archives ' when reusing. Certain restrictions on high quality reproductions and commercial use of the original physical version apply. If unsure please email [email protected]
Owner: East Riding Archives
Views: 2070
Tags: station east yorkshire old photographs photos black white bw historic



Withernsea Coastguard Station 1911 (archive ref DDEY-1-90)
Description: (Buy exclusive historic East Yorkshire prints from East Riding Photos http://picturearchivesorg/eastridingphotos) (Why not try searching our East Riding of Yorkshire Map for more historic images? www.flickr.com/photos/erarchives/map ) (Copyright) We're happy for you to share this digital image within the spirit of Creative Commons. Please cite 'East Riding Archives ' when reusing. Certain restrictions on high quality reproductions and commercial use of the original physical version apply. If unsure please email [email protected]
Owner: East Riding Archives
Views: 3431
Tags: station east yorkshire old photographs photos black white bw historic



Buckingham Palace, London (with French sub-titles)
Description: A rare visit to the Stereo Pairs collection takes us out foreign, to Bucks House no less and the "Picture Gallery". The titles as inserted on the slide are in French which may raise questions as to its provenance and source(?) [https://www.flickr.com/photos/[email protected]] that the image was a work by the studios of Ferrier, Soulier & Levy (Wikipedia) who did glass stereographs (note similar image with comparable French sub-text). It's suggested that the image was taken close to the middle of the 1860-1880s range - but certainly some time before redevelopment of the room and its ceiling in the early 20th century.... Photographers: Frederick Holland Mares, James Simonton Contributor: John Fortune Lawrence Collection: Stereo Pairs Photograph Collection Date: c.1860-1883 NLI Ref: STP_0422 You can also view this image, and many thousands of others, on the NLI’s catalogue at catalogue.nli.ie
Owner: National Library of Ireland on The Commons
Views: 10873
Tags: thestereopairsphotographcollection lawrencecollection stereographicnegatives jamessimonton frederickhollandmares johnfortunelawrence williammervynlawrence nationallibraryofireland thepicturegallery buckinghampalace



Bookstore G Gutman Kovno Birstono Street no 10
Description: A census of Kovno from 1923 indicated that 27 percent of the city’s population was Jewish – and the city was the scene of a thriving Jewish community that would befit such a high percentage. The city was home to multiple yeshivas, several Yiddish daily newspapers, a host of mutual aid and other welfare institutions – and all the signs of a city with a vibrant Jewish community in both the religious and secular sense. While the interwar years were a period of growth and stability for the Jews of Kovno this stability was not long lived. In June 1940 the city was occupied by the Soviets and in this period much of the religious life of the city was repressed; however, this tragedy was only deepened a year later when the Nazi’s occupied the city and murdered much of the city’s Jewish population These are bookstamps belonging to a book and religious article shop that was owned by the Gutman family in Kovno. A picture of the exterior of this bookstore can be found in Yad Vashem’s Photo Archive. The image has been digitized and is available at the following link: collections.yadvashem.org/photosarchive/en-us/10891.html This book stamp is from a book looted by the Nazis and sorted by Colonel Seymour Pomrenze, one of “the Monuments Men,” at the Offenbach Archival Depot. There are two scrapbooks of archival markings from the books sorted at the Offenbach Depot in the Seymour Pomrenze Collection held by the American Jewish Historical Society (Call number P-933) There is a finding aid for the collection here The digitized scrapbooks are available here and here. For more information on this project check the Center’s blog: 16thstreet.tumblr.com/tagged/Offenbach-Depot Dr. Mitch Fraas, Acting Director of the Digital Humanities Forum at the University of Pennsylvania Libraries' Special Collections Center is working on a similar project for the German book stamps based on NARA microfilm of the volumes the American Jewish Historical Society currently holds. See viewshare.org/views/mfraas/offenbach-bookplates/ The Center for Jewish History would like to acknowledge the following: The American Jewish Historical Society, who graciously allowed the use of their archival materials and digital content; Mitch Fraas, Acting Director of the Digital Humanities Forum at the University of Pennsylvania Libraries' Special Collections Center, for his data and technical assistance in this project; David Rosenberg, Senior Manager for Communications, and Melanie Meyers, Senior Reference Services Librarian for Special Collections, for managing and creating the digital map; as well as Reference Services Librarian Zachary Loeb and Reference Services Assistant Ilya Slavutskiy for their work on translating and mapping. For copyright information, click here
Owner: Center for Jewish History, NYC
Views: 1141
Tags: hardwareepsonexpression100 softwareepsonscanv220aan



Top of Ellerker Mill (Demolition) 1913 (archive ref DDEY-1-67)
Description: (Buy exclusive historic East Yorkshire prints from East Riding Photos http://picturearchivesorg/eastridingphotos) Men sit atop the mill at Ellerker in East Yorkshire as they begin work on its demolition in 1913. (Why not try searching our East Riding of Yorkshire Map for more historic images? www.flickr.com/photos/erarchives/map ) (Copyright) We're happy for you to share this digital image within the spirit of Creative Commons. Please cite 'East Riding Archives ' when reusing. Certain restrictions on high quality reproductions and commercial use of the original physical version apply. If unsure please email [email protected]
Owner: East Riding Archives
Views: 1904
Tags: windmill windmills old historic heritage east yorkshire riding rural villages



Statue of Sir B.L. Guinness, St. Patricks Cathedral, Dublin
Description: A statue of a man in tights should get us off to a good start today? I have seen this statue of Sir B L Guinness many times but never paid much heed to. It will be nice to research him and see what his claim to fame may have been. While acknowledging that there is much more to him, oaktree_brian_1976 offers a summary of "the beer dude" :) As per the detail provided by B-59, BultacoFan, beachcomber, and Niall McAuley we learn that Benjamin Guinness (1798–1868) was a brewer and philanthropist, and that he contributed to the restoration (reconstruction?) of the cathedral where this status stands. The sculptor was John Hogan (1800–1858), whose works we have come across quite a few times before.... Photographer: Robert French Collection: Lawrence Photograph Collection Date: ca.1865-1914 NLI Ref: L_CAB_01308 You can also view this image, and many thousands of others, on the NLI’s catalogue at catalogue.nli.ie
Owner: National Library of Ireland on The Commons
Views: 10257
Tags: robertfrench williamlawrence lawrencecollection lawrencephotographicstudio thelawrencephotographcollection glassnegative nationallibraryofireland sirblguinness stpatrickscathedral dublin



Miss Joan Musgrave, elder, on horse, hair stripe in coat
Description: Miss Musgrave on her horse from the Poole collection. The well manicured lawn and gravel drive denote a "Big" house and privilege. Any bets on the name of the horse? Our researchers traced this lady and discovered that she changed from Miss Musgrave to Mrs Joan Jameson (1892–1953). (The Jameson's of course of the noted whiskey distillers of Dublin.) She was an accomplished artist and exhibited many times in Dublin and London. Thank you all for your contributions and help! Photographer: A. H. Poole Collection: Poole Photographic Studio, Waterford Date: Catalogue range 1901-1954. Likely in the middle of this range (given label (subject married in 1920) and age (possibly late teens or 20s here). NLI Ref: POOLEWP 2278 You can also view this image, and many thousands of others, on the NLI’s catalogue at catalogue.nli.ie
Owner: National Library of Ireland on The Commons
Views: 11297
Tags: ahpoole arthurhenripoole glassnegative nationallibraryofireland missjoanmusgrave horse drive lawn 18021911 poolephotographiccollection



The Apprentice Boys Memorial aka
Description: Today we move from the far south of Waterford to the far north of Derry and a memorial to the Apprentice Boys there. A surprisingly modest memorial to such an historically important group. This shot from Derry/Londonderry didn't arouse a lot of interest today, but it appears that the memorial is not so much to the Apprentice Boys themselves as it is to the unknown people interred in a mass grave near St. Columbs Cathedral following the siege. Swordscookie found an account of where the bones of those interred were being taken to be dumped into land reclamation at the river and local people objected. The remains were then taken back to the cathedral and interred in the "Heroes Mound" The correct title for this image might rightly be "The Heroes Mound Memorial"? Photographer: Robert French Collection: Lawrence Photograph Collection Date: between ca. 1865-1914 NLI Ref: L_ROY_02877 You can also view this image, and many thousands of others, on the NLI’s catalogue at catalogue.nli.ie
Owner: National Library of Ireland on The Commons
Views: 10074
Tags: robertfrench williamlawrence lawrencecollection lawrencephotographicstudio thelawrencephotographcollection glassnegative nationallibraryofireland derrylondonderry apprenticeboys memorial



Curraghmore, Portlaw, Co. Waterford
Description: We may have moved to the Lawrence Collection today but we remain firmly in Poole territory of Waterford. This magnificent pile may not have survived the "Troubles" but if it has it would make a most interesting place to visit. This proved to be a red herring as though the catalogue entry was labelled "Annaghmore", this proved to be "Curraghmore House" - the home of the Marquis of Waterford, and a place we have visited here many times in the past. Thank you one and all for your help in clearing up the confusion! What is particularly pleasing about this is that the old pile did indeed survive the "Troubles" intact! Photographer: Robert French Collection: Lawrence Photograph Collection Date: between ca. 1865-1914 NLI Ref: L_CAB_04065 You can also view this image, and many thousands of others, on the NLI’s catalogue at catalogue.nli.ie
Owner: National Library of Ireland on The Commons
Views: 10379
Tags: robertfrench williamlawrence lawrencecollection lawrencephotographicstudio thelawrencephotographcollection glassnegative nationallibraryofireland curraghmore curraghmorehouse portlaw



Description: The somewhat long catalogue label for this image is "Bridge of three arches over river in foreground, street with terraces of chequered front houses in middle ground". While I must admit this seems desperately familiar (and fighting a feeling of déjà vu that we have visited this bridge before), today's "location unknown" image comes from the Stereo Pair collection. Are we losing it? Have we been here before? Where is "here"...? With thanks to Mike Grimes, B-59, beachcomber, and O Mac, the location was quickly confirmed as Bann Bridge in Portadown. Captured possibly on a busy market day. The bridge was extensively rebuilt 50 or so years after this 1870s(?) image - many of the distinctive terraced houses on the right do not survive. Photographers: Frederick Holland Mares, James Simonton Contributor: John Fortune Lawrence Collection: Stereo Pairs Photograph Collection Date: 1860-1883 (though likely after 1867/68) NLI Ref: STP_2202 You can also view this image, and many thousands of others, on the NLI’s catalogue at catalogue.nli.ie
Owner: National Library of Ireland on The Commons
Views: 10102
Tags: stereopairsphotographcollection lawrencecollection stereographicnegatives jamessimonton frederickhollandmares johnfortunelawrence williammervynlawrence nationallibraryofireland bann bridge



Looking south on Barrington Street from Scotia Square
Description: An image of Barrington St. as seen from the sidewalk in front of Scotia Square, now complete. Date: ca. 1970 Photographer: Halifax Regional Police Department Format: b&w print ; 20.3 x 25.4 cm (8 x 10 inches) Retrieval Code: Halifax Police Department photograph, 102-16N-0068.31
Owner: Halifax Municipal Archives
Views: 1364
Tags: halifax novascotia canada archives city history architecture urbanrenewal urbandevelopment



City Market building and Duke Towers
Description: An image of the City Market building backed by Duke Towers as seen from Citadel Hill. Date: May 23, 1972 Photographer: Halifax Regional Police Department Format: b&w print ; 25.4 x 20.3 cm (10 x 8 inches) Retrieval Code: Halifax Police Department photograph, 102-16N-0068.32
Owner: Halifax Municipal Archives
Views: 1354
Tags: halifax novascotia canada archives city history architecture waterfront harbour urbanrenewal



2213-2323 Brunswick St.
Description: Date: 1965 Photographer: Building Inspector, Works Department Format: b&w negative ; 6 x 6 cm Retrieval Code: Halifax Works Department photograph, 102-39-1-603.9
Owner: Halifax Municipal Archives
Views: 744
Tags: halifax novascotia canada archives history architecture houses brunswickst



2213-2323 Brunswick St.
Description: Date: 1965 Photographer: Building Inspector, Works Department Format: b&w negative ; 6 x 6 cm Retrieval Code: Halifax Works Department photograph, 102-39-1-603.3
Owner: Halifax Municipal Archives
Views: 792
Tags: halifax novascotia canada archives history architecture houses brunswickst



2213-2323 Brunswick St.
Description: Date: 1965 Photographer: Building Inspector, Works Department Format: b&w negative ; 6 x 6 cm Retrieval Code: Halifax Works Department photograph, 102-39-1-603.2
Owner: Halifax Municipal Archives
Views: 810
Tags: halifax novascotia canada archives history architecture houses brunswickst mailman canadapost



2275 Brunswick St.
Description: Date: 1965 Photographer: Building Inspector, Works Department Format: b&w negative ; 6 x 6 cm Retrieval Code: Halifax Works Department photograph, 102-39-1-603.7
Owner: Halifax Municipal Archives
Views: 763
Tags: halifax novascotia canada archives history architecture houses brunswickst



2237 Brunswick St.
Description: Date: 1965 Photographer: Building Inspector, Works Department Format: b&w negative ; 6 x 6 cm Retrieval Code: Halifax Works Department photograph, 102-39-1-603.6
Owner: Halifax Municipal Archives
Views: 776
Tags: halifax novascotia canada archives history architecture houses brunswickst



2213-2323 Brunswick St.
Description: Date: 1965 Photographer: Building Inspector, Works Department Format: b&w negative ; 6 x 6 cm Retrieval Code: Halifax Works Department photograph, 102-39-1-603.4
Owner: Halifax Municipal Archives
Views: 768
Tags: halifax novascotia canada archives history architecture houses brunswickst



2213-2323 Brunswick St.
Description: Date: 1965 Photographer: Building Inspector, Works Department Format: b&w negative ; 6 x 6 cm Retrieval Code: Halifax Works Department photograph, 102-39-1-603.5
Owner: Halifax Municipal Archives
Views: 789
Tags: halifax novascotia canada archives history architecture houses brunswickst



2213-2323 Brunswick St.
Description: Date: 1965 Photographer: Building Inspector, Works Department Format: b&w negative ; 6 x 6 cm Retrieval Code: Halifax Works Department photograph, 102-39-1-603.10
Owner: Halifax Municipal Archives
Views: 766
Tags: halifax novascotia canada archives history architecture houses brunswickst



Passage to the Congo in 1939
Description: Santa Cruz de Tenerife - La Laguna. Photographer unknown. Liberaal Archief / Collectie Henri Guillaume
Owner: Liberaal Archief - Liberas
Views: 901
Tags: tenerife santacruzdetenerife henriguillaume liberaalarchiefvzw travelphotogaphy belgianhistory colonialera sancristóbaldelalaguna outdoor island



Passage to the Congo in 1939
Description: Santa Cruz de Tenerife. Photographer unknown (Henri Guillaume?) Liberaal Archief / Collectie Henri Guillaume
Owner: Liberaal Archief - Liberas
Views: 921
Tags: tenerife santacruzdetenerife colonialera streetscene island henriguillaume liberaalarchiefvzw outdoor



Viața socială
Description: Full content of the book Foto splendid vol. 1, Viața socială
Owner: Costică Acsinte Archive
Views: 2532
Tags: costicăacsintearchive fotosplendid atelierelealbe



Book launch poster
Description: Foto Splendid vol 2 „Doamne și domnițe“ poster www.facebook.com/events/1619227848106461/
Owner: Costică Acsinte Archive
Views: 3098
Tags: fotosplendid costicăacsinte edituraatelierelealbe anabarton



Lansare de carte
Description: Lansare de carte Colecția Costică Acsinte, Foto Splendid volumul al II-lea „Doamne și domnițe“. Joi, 20 octombrie 2016, ora 19:00 la Voilà Bistrot, str. General Constantin Budișteanu nr. 18, București. www.facebook.com/events/1619227848106461/
Owner: Costică Acsinte Archive
Views: 1424
Tags: fotosplendid



A distinguished gentleman in robes and chain of office sitting on a throne (of sorts)
Description: This fine Poole portrait portraying probably the Lord Mayor of a city to end this week. The robes and chain are very ornate and he is seated on a very finely carved chair - but who is he and what was the office he held? Today's contributors, including [https://www.flickr.com/photos/[email protected]], [https://www.flickr.com/photos/gnmcauley] and [https://www.flickr.com/photos/[email protected]] spotted the coat or arms, motto and regalia as those of Waterford - so clearly this is a Waterford mayor. Given that the catalogue date of the image was 1927, it was originally thought that maybe this was John J. Wyley - who was mayor that year. However, various clues didn't support that suggestion (not least the age of the man, the name of the person who comissioned the photo, and a "copy" label in the catalogue entry). There is therefore much stronger evidence that the mayor pictured is Henry Grainger, who was mayor in 1898. It seems likely a family member (probably a daughter) commissioned a copy from the Poole studio during the 1920s.... Photographer: A. H. Poole Collection: Poole Photographic Studio, Waterford Date: c.3 September 1927 (likely date earlier photo was copied. Original may date to c.1898) NLI Ref: POOLEWP 3458 You can also view this image, and many thousands of others, on the NLI’s catalogue at catalogue.nli.ie
Owner: National Library of Ireland on The Commons
Views: 10087
Tags: ahpoole arthurhenripoole glassnegative nationallibraryofireland gentleman chainofoffice robes fur chair throne



Paardenpolo
Description: Beelden uit de tentoonstelling Archief Sportief!, in het Liberaal Archief van 16 september 2016 t/m 13 januari 2017. Meer informatie: www.liberaalarchief.be Images from the exhibition Archief Sportief! in the Liberaal Archief in Ghent, September 16, 2016 through January 13, 2017
Owner: Liberaal Archief - Liberas
Views: 1286
Tags: paardensport paardenpolo outdoor sport oostende liberaalarchiefvzw gent archieven erfgoed heritage



Zwemmen, waterpolo en voetbal
Description: Beelden uit de tentoonstelling Archief Sportief!, in het Liberaal Archief van 16 september 2016 t/m 13 januari 2017. Meer informatie: www.liberaalarchief.be Images from the exhibition Archief Sportief! in the Liberaal Archief in Ghent, September 16, 2016 through January 13, 2017
Owner: Liberaal Archief - Liberas
Views: 1486
Tags: gent ghent vlaanderen “liberaalarchiefvzw” tentoonstelling “archiefsportief” exhibition sport turnen “kramersplein23”



Wielerclub het Blauwe Wiel, Antwerpen | Cyclist club
Description: Beelden uit de tentoonstelling Archief Sportief!, in het Liberaal Archief van 16 september 2016 t/m 13 januari 2017. Meer informatie: www.liberaalarchief.be Images from the exhibition Archief Sportief! in the Liberaal Archief in Ghent, September 16, 2016 through January 13, 2017
Owner: Liberaal Archief - Liberas
Views: 1662
Tags: gent ghent vlaanderen “liberaalarchiefvzw” tentoonstelling “archiefsportief” exhibition sport turnen “kramersplein23”



Motocross
Description: Beelden uit de tentoonstelling Archief Sportief!, in het Liberaal Archief van 16 september 2016 t/m 13 januari 2017. Meer informatie: www.liberaalarchief.be Images from the exhibition Archief Sportief! in the Liberaal Archief in Ghent, September 16, 2016 through January 13, 2017
Owner: Liberaal Archief - Liberas
Views: 1386
Tags: gent ghent vlaanderen “liberaalarchiefvzw” tentoonstelling “archiefsportief” exhibition sport turnen “kramersplein23”



Turnen, 1951
Description: Beelden uit de tentoonstelling Archief Sportief!, in het Liberaal Archief van 16 september 2016 t/m 13 januari 2017. Meer informatie: www.liberaalarchief.be Images from the exhibition Archief Sportief! in the Liberaal Archief in Ghent, September 16, 2016 through January 13, 2017
Owner: Liberaal Archief - Liberas
Views: 1884
Tags: gent ghent vlaanderen “liberaalarchiefvzw” tentoonstelling “archiefsportief” exhibition sport turnen “kramersplein23”



Union of Food Workers Lozovsky Club
Description: The Lozovsky referred to in this stamp is most likely Solomon Lozovsky, a prominent Bolshevik and, during the times he was expelled from the Bolshevik Party (in 1914 and 1918), a Mezhraionets (a Russian Social Democratic Party faction straddling the ideological territory between the Bolsheviks and Mensheviks). He was a long-time revolutionary and a high official in various capacities in the Soviet Union. His Soviet political credentials were serious – at various times Presidium member of the All-Union Central Council of Soviet Trade Unions, Supreme Soviet member, Deputy People's Commissar for foreign affairs (answering to Molotov), and head of the Soviet Information Bureau (Sovinformburo). He was also the chair of the department of International Relations at the Higher Party School and General Secretary of the Red International Labour Union (Profintern). A Union club being named in Solomon Lozovsky’s honor is in line with his extensive involvement with labor unions throughout much of his career. This stamp is a testament to the existence of libraries in Union social institutions in the Soviet Union. He was born in Ukraine to Jewish parents and was a member of the Jewish Anti-Fascist Committee. He was murdered together with thirteen other members of the Jewish Anti-Fascist Committee in 1952 during Stalin’s anti-Semitic campaigns of the late 1940s and early 1950s. This event came to be known as the Night of the Murdered Poets, as five of the thirteen victims were Yiddish writers. This book stamp is from a book looted by the Nazis and sorted by Colonel Seymour Pomrenze, one of “the Monuments Men,” at the Offenbach Archival Depot. There are two scrapbooks of archival markings from the books sorted at the Offenbach Depot in the Seymour Pomrenze Collection held by the American Jewish Historical Society (Call number P-933) There is a finding aid for the collection here The digitized scrapbooks are available here and here. For more information on this project check the Center’s blog: 16thstreet.tumblr.com/tagged/Offenbach-Depot Dr. Mitch Fraas, Acting Director of the Digital Humanities Forum at the University of Pennsylvania Libraries' Special Collections Center is working on a similar project for the German book stamps based on NARA microfilm of the volumes the American Jewish Historical Society currently holds. See viewshare.org/views/mfraas/offenbach-bookplates/ The Center for Jewish History would like to acknowledge the following: The American Jewish Historical Society, who graciously allowed the use of their archival materials and digital content; Mitch Fraas, Acting Director of the Digital Humanities Forum at the University of Pennsylvania Libraries' Special Collections Center, for his data and technical assistance in this project; David Rosenberg, Senior Manager for Communications, and Melanie Meyers, Senior Reference Services Librarian for Special Collections, for managing and creating the digital map; as well as Reference Services Librarians Zachary Loeb and Ilya Slavutskiy for their work on translating and mapping. For copyright information, click here
Owner: Center for Jewish History, NYC
Views: 1529
Tags: hardwareepsonexpression100 softwareepsonscanv220aan



Library of the Riga Infantry School
Description: The Riga Infantry School was founded on September 19th, 1940, shortly after the Soviet Occupation of Latvia in June 1940. From the beginning of the Nazi Invasion of the Soviet Union on June 22, 1941 until June 29th, both students and teachers of the Riga Infantry School were involved in the fighting. Riga was abandoned by the Soviets and occupied by the German forces on July 1st. The Riga Infantry School reopened on July 13th in the city of Sterlitamak in the Bashkir Autonomous Soviet Socialist Republic, this Republic being one of the main destinations of evacuees and evacuated infrastructure and factories during the war. While there, students and officers helped with various tasks as the war situation required, such as helping with laying electrical wire and harvesting crops. The Riga Infantry School was disbanded in 1946. This book stamp is from a book looted by the Nazis and sorted by Colonel Seymour Pomrenze, one of “the Monuments Men,” at the Offenbach Archival Depot. There are two scrapbooks of archival markings from the books sorted at the Offenbach Depot in the Seymour Pomrenze Collection held by the American Jewish Historical Society (Call number P-933) There is a finding aid for the collection here The digitized scrapbooks are available here and here. For more information on this project check the Center’s blog: 16thstreet.tumblr.com/tagged/Offenbach-Depot Dr. Mitch Fraas, Acting Director of the Digital Humanities Forum at the University of Pennsylvania Libraries' Special Collections Center is working on a similar project for the German book stamps based on NARA microfilm of the volumes the American Jewish Historical Society currently holds. See viewshare.org/views/mfraas/offenbach-bookplates/ The Center for Jewish History would like to acknowledge the following: The American Jewish Historical Society, who graciously allowed the use of their archival materials and digital content; Mitch Fraas, Acting Director of the Digital Humanities Forum at the University of Pennsylvania Libraries' Special Collections Center, for his data and technical assistance in this project; David Rosenberg, Senior Manager for Communications, and Melanie Meyers, Senior Reference Services Librarian for Special Collections, for managing and creating the digital map; as well as Reference Services Librarian Zachary Loeb and Reference Services Assistant Ilya Slavutskiy for their work on translating and mapping. For copyright information, click here
Owner: Center for Jewish History, NYC
Views: 1396
Tags: hardwareepsonexpression100 softwareepsonscanv220aan